Jump to content



Photo

cpu power


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:40

Hey guys.
I got some parts from a friend and was bloutting it back together. One thing I can't figure out is why the cpu seams not to be getting any power. The fans and every thing are running but the procceser is still cold as a rock.. any ideas?


#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:50

Try reseating it. Could be a memory error too, try swapping out RAM when possible.

#3 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:55

Tryed both of them.

#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 May 2013 - 02:02

Made sure you plugged in the 24-pin and 4/8-pin cords?

Are you getting any beeps? Well have a speaker onboard at all?

#5 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 26 May 2013 - 02:48

Unplug everything and try a minimal boot: motherboard, CPU, RAM, plug a monitor in the integrated graphics (if no IGP add a discrete card), keyboard and mouse. 6 screws with large flat heads connecting the motherboard to the case. 24-pin and 4-pin CPU power connections made. If you're not getting into BIOS try resetting the BIOS. If that fails you probably have a defective part, it's either the PSU, RAM, CPU or motherboard. Swap with known working parts if possible to identify the culprit.

#6 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 26 May 2013 - 12:47

No beeps and every thing is plugged in as far as I can tell.....there is not onboard graphics. And the video card is geting hot when it does run.

#7 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 May 2013 - 14:14

You have another gfx to try this?

#8 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 26 May 2013 - 23:27

I have a Graphics card in it. The card is geting hot but i can let the system run for a hour and take the heat sink off and touch the cpu and it is still ice cold.

#9 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 26 May 2013 - 23:42

4 or 8 pin PSU cord hooked to the MB?

#10 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 27 May 2013 - 14:48

Two 4 pin going in to it.

#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 27 May 2013 - 17:36

Any bleeding capacitors?

#12 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 27 May 2013 - 17:42

Two 4 pin going in to it.


Your PS should have a single 8 pin cable for that spot..

What motherboard/powersupply is this?

#13 ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 28 May 2013 - 10:08

You need to have a 8pin plug into the mainboard. That powers the CPU. The CPU needs it's own power.

#14 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:10

The 8 pin behind the CPU is plugged in. It's the asrock p43d motherboard and a coolermsster 460 Watt psu