Jump to content



Photo

Router 100base\1000base question

Answered Go to the full post networking

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Mikeparkie

Mikeparkie

    Neowinian-Geek

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 02

Posted 07 June 2013 - 15:03

I have a question I think I know the answer to but I need someone to confirm that I'm right.

Here goes.

Virgin media have put my speed up to 120mbs. My NIC is currently set at 100mbs Full Duplex. My D-Link 615 has the Virgin Media Superhub connected (with the built in router disabled, as the Superhub has no WakeOnLAN option).

The specification for the D-Link 615 states it has a 100base
http://reviews.cnet....7-32435592.html

When I changed the NIC to 1.0Gbs the link says disabled. Is that because my router can only go up to 100mbs? and if I wanted to achieve the 120mbs I would need to disconnect the router and enable routering on the Virgin Superhub?

Thanks in advance for the input.

Best Answer Mikeparkie , 18 June 2013 - 18:29

I worked through the issue and found a workaround for those interested! 

http://community.vir...-2/td-p/1874560

 

In short I turned the old router into an access point, enable the web gui so now I can just access the gui from the internet and manually wake the PC. Not as elegant as using a true WOL Internet magic packet, but it did save me from having to buy a new router! 

Go to the full post



#2 hitman05

hitman05

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-June 07

Posted 07 June 2013 - 15:09

Exactly. You would need to replace your router with one that has gigabit (1000BT) ports, or use the Virgin Superhub (which has a gigabit ethernet switch according to it's specs). Your NIC should be a gigabit model if it is showing you the option to set it to 1000.

#3 OP Mikeparkie

Mikeparkie

    Neowinian-Geek

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 02

Posted 07 June 2013 - 15:11

Thanks hitman, thought as much :)

#4 OP Mikeparkie

Mikeparkie

    Neowinian-Geek

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 02

Posted 18 June 2013 - 09:36

I have a follow on question…

 

I now have the Virgin Media Superhub 2 installed. The hub doesn’t support WOL over the internet so can anyone answer this: if I turn my existing D-Link 615 into a access point and connect it to the back of the Superhub 2, is it still capable of receiving magic packets and sending them to my NIC on the PC to wake it up? 



#5 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:45

No because the superhub doesn't pass those packets to the LAN which is why you wanted the other router in the first place.

#6 UseLess

UseLess

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-July 04
  • Location: Australia, West Coast

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:57

I am not too sure about "real" internet...here in Aust we only get ADSL =(

 

If you say your net is 120mpbs...do you actually get that? I mean 100mbps on the LAN will actually connect at 100mbps. Look at your modem and make sure it connects at >100mbps.



#7 OP Mikeparkie

Mikeparkie

    Neowinian-Geek

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 02

Posted 18 June 2013 - 14:54

No because the superhub doesn't pass those packets to the LAN which is why you wanted the other router in the first place.

 

Makes sense, I was just hoping there would be some workaround.    

 

thanks for the input. 



#8 OP Mikeparkie

Mikeparkie

    Neowinian-Geek

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 02

Posted 18 June 2013 - 18:29   Best Answer

I worked through the issue and found a workaround for those interested! 

http://community.vir...-2/td-p/1874560

 

In short I turned the old router into an access point, enable the web gui so now I can just access the gui from the internet and manually wake the PC. Not as elegant as using a true WOL Internet magic packet, but it did save me from having to buy a new router! 





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!