Jump to content



Photo

Metro app EntranceThemeTransition + Resize

c# xaml metro windows 8

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 James Rose

James Rose

    Software Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-January 04
  • Location: New York City

Posted 14 June 2013 - 00:57

Hello gang,

I am learning about Metro apps and found the Theme Transitions. Specifically the EntranceThemeTransition, I have loading a list of menus and the top menu is to be larger than all the others. I have not been able to find if there is a built in transition for me to us to affect just one item as the all load in via the EntranceThemeTransition.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.


#2 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 22 June 2013 - 21:39

Hmm, what exactly are you trying to achieve here, just so I'm clear - to animate in just the one top menu and not the others?



#3 OP James Rose

James Rose

    Software Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-January 04
  • Location: New York City

Posted 23 June 2013 - 18:37

The app has a list of items.  The top item is larger than all the others (to help show that it is the current item.  This is a media player for your tv)  The menu when shifting from position two to position one should get larger.  I started rebuilding this app for Windows 7, and manually used C# code to have this affect (along with fading the icon from Black and White to Color)  But now there are Windows 8 Transitions so I have been looking into those.  The entrance theme works great to load the initial list.  But I would like to have the top item get larger during a Reposition theme.

 

Did that make my question easier?



#4 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 23 June 2013 - 20:04

Ah yes, that helped. Unfortuantely that's not possible with ThemeAnimations / Transitions - you'll have to continue doing that in code.



#5 OP James Rose

James Rose

    Software Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-January 04
  • Location: New York City

Posted 24 June 2013 - 14:27

Ah yes, that helped. Unfortuantely that's not possible with ThemeAnimations / Transitions - you'll have to continue doing that in code.

 

Thanks, and that does make me feel a bit better.  At least I'm not blind/unable to find the solution as there isn't one.

 

Have a great day, and thank you again for the help

 

Peace.