Jump to content



Photo

New System No Power


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 June 2013 - 22:54

So I purchased a cooler master hyper 212 evo, a new psu for my new build.

Put it all together and it does not turn on. I have checked and tried all possible areas for the headers.

Ideas? No power at all, no noise, no fans, no lights.


#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 18 June 2013 - 22:58

24-pin? 8-pin? PSU switched on?



#3 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:00

Yes all that.

My specs for reference.

Intel Core i7 4770K 3.5GHz Quad Core
ASRock Z87E Mini ITX
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770 2GB Overclock Edition
Samsung 840 Series 500GB SSD
Corsair 750W PSU
BitFenix Prodigy Mini ITX Black Case

#4 von kain

von kain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-August 09
  • OS: windows 7

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:01

try the above then try with just mobo-gpu conected

 

 

p.s. reset bios.



#5 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:08

No, without video card same, and it'd all the same hardware except the PSU so reset bios makes no sense.

#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:16

I'm afraid your PSU is just, dead. 

 

Try the paper clip test: http://www.overclock...-and-components



#7 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:20

It's brand new like wtf

#8 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: hammerhead

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:22

sometimes items arrive DOA, it sucks but it happens.



#9 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:22

Can you try your old PSU to see if the motherboard fires up?



#10 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:23

Does your PSU have a self test mode?



#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:32

It's brand new like wtf

It happens, I got several products DOA. Do the paperclip test, this will test if the PSU works, at all.



#12 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:45

I *Heart* My power supply tester.

 

if stuff is going to die it's going to come dead or die in the first 30 days.



#13 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:48

Going to try the old PSU but it's hard to do because of the new hyper 212.

I also don't understand the clip test, u plug it into the ends, and then what?

#14 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: hammerhead

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:49

make sure psu is off, unfold paperclip into a "U" like formation, stick one end into black the other into green, plug in PSU and flip back switch see if it turns on or not



#15 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 18 June 2013 - 23:52

^ What he said.

 

I have a PSU, cheap piece of crap, that I use as a tester for drives. See if they rumble.