Jump to content



Photo

New System No Power


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#16 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:05

make sure psu is off, unfold paperclip into a "U" like formation, stick one end into black the other into green, plug in PSU and flip back switch see if it turns on or not


Ok dis it, the fan for the PSU turned on, what does that mean?


#17 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:08

You didn't plug your motherboard in to the PSU.



#18 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:12

Ok dis it, the fan for the PSU turned on, what does that mean?

 

That means you are getting at least some power. Can you possibly try that PSU on another system?

 

 

 

You didn't plug your motherboard in to the PSU.

In the paper clip test, you wouldn't.



#19 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:19

If it were to work on another system, that would say what?

#20 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:23

If it works fine in another system, your PSU is not the problem in this configuration.



#21 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:23

Yes,but what is lol

#22 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:26

Bman, chill. Troubleshooting isn't a straight answer. You have to try a number of things to find it out.



#23 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:27

Is it a modular PSU?



#24 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:30

That wouldn't matter, Enron. But if I remember correctly, it wasn't.



#25 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:37

Ok. I plugged in the old PSU and it's running.

 

So it's the new PSU for sure then right?

 

Also, My new Hyper 212 sounds kinda loud, thought it was suppose to be quieter then factory stuff.

 

*nevermind, its my new 230mm Fan, I think it might have a ball bearing issue. :(



#26 MDboyz

MDboyz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-November 01

Posted 19 June 2013 - 00:42

nvm ... glad to find out the issue.


Edited by MDboyz, 19 June 2013 - 00:44.