Jump to content



Photo

Steam Update, Kills Gamepad Controller in "Big Picture"

steam big picture xbox wireless controller

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 +SYBINX

SYBINX

    Classified!

  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Cymru
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: HTC One Max

Posted 29 June 2013 - 00:57

Hello,

 

Steam Client Beta Update - June 28th

28 JUNE 2013 - SLOUKEN

We have just updated the beta, with the following changes: 

Steam: 

  • Updated to Simple DirectMedia Layer 2.0 Release Candidate 
  • Fixed uploading some large files to the Steam Cloud 
  • Fixed text input caret not showing on text controls in web views 
  • Added an exception to the run game confirmation dialog for Civilization V desktop shortcuts created by its launcher

Big Picture: 

  • Fixed small memory leak on OS X

 

It looks as though the guys at Valve have accidently disabled gamepad controllers for the latest beta release of Steam Client because mine has stopped working. I have checked on the Steam Blog and there are others with the same issue, therefore, it looks as though they've accidently removed support or they forgot to add support for "Big Picture". This happened on one of their beta updates a few weeks ago I had a similar problem, where the controller was not detected even though it's in perfect working order.

 

Do'h! :woot:  




#2 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 29 June 2013 - 01:10

That's why we have beta :) For everyone else it's business as usual.



#3 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 29 June 2013 - 01:13

Steam is such bloatware these days. :(



#4 ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 01 July 2013 - 09:51

It's only bloaty if you have a ###### computer. I have a 16GB ram system and it handles it very well. even my old computer which has only 4GB ram can run it WITH GTA4.



#5 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:03

It's only bloaty if you have a ****ty computer. I have a 16GB ram system and it handles it very well. even my old computer which has only 4GB ram can run it WITH GTA4.

You have got to be joking. Steam de-evolved from a game launcher to a MySpace for gamers with tracking, horrible system which uploads your saves to some online database and doesn't allow you to quit or play until it finishes with a minor chance of loosing all your settings, achievements for you to feel to good about yourself, console mode, and now recently digital trading items. And do not forget that Steam comes from the bastards which made TF2 a game about hats and F2P effectively telling people who played for it to go suck it with a veteran badge.

 

Oh and it takes longer to login to Steam than it takes to open outlook on a slow connection. It also can start downloading a huge update while you are playing a video game so your ping goes through the roof. It doesn't even download fast like say Origin which can give you 100MB/s download speed. I could keep going.

 

Steam had its golden run. Now let it die in favor of lightweight non-****ty alternatives.


Edited by _Alexander, 03 July 2013 - 02:05.


#6 Athernar

Athernar

    ?

  • Joined: 15-December 04

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:08

You have got to be joking. Steam de-evolved from a game launcher to a MySpace for gamers with tracking, horrible system which uploads your saves to some online database and doesn't allow you to quit or play until it finishes with a minor chance of loosing all your settings, achievements for you to feel to good about yourself, console mode, and now recently digital trading items.

 

Oh and it takes longer to login to Steam than it takes to open outlook on a slow connection. It also can start downloading a huge update while you are playing a video game so your ping goes through the roof. It doesn't even download fast like say Origin which can give you 100MB/s download speed. I could keep going.

 

Steam had its golden run. Now let it die in favor of lightweight non-****ty alternatives.

 

If you spent at least as much time actually looking at the Steam client rather than making useless posts you'd see most of what you mention can be disabled. Don't blame Steam for your own inadequacy.

 

The only valid point you have is about starting Steam, which is due to the client needing to download the CDR - a system that is slowly being phased out as Steampipe is rolled out.



#7 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:25

If you spent at least as much time actually looking at the Steam client rather than making useless posts you'd see most of what you mention can be disabled. Don't blame Steam for your own inadequacy.

 

The only valid point you have is about starting Steam, which is due to the client needing to download the CDR - a system that is slowly being phased out as Steampipe is rolled out.

Ok, how do you disable Community, Friend Activity, Screenshots, Big Picture, that mail icon on the top right, etc...?

 

That was rhetorical question by the way.



#8 Athernar

Athernar

    ?

  • Joined: 15-December 04

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:44

Ok, how do you disable Community, Friend Activity, Screenshots, Big Picture, that mail icon on the top right, etc...?

 

That was rhetorical question by the way.

 

Have you tried not being a big baby about optional features that have zero impact on you?



#9 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:04

Have you tried not being a big baby about optional features that have zero impact on you?

This is the definition of bloat.



#10 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:04

It's only bloaty if you have a ****ty computer. I have a 16GB ram system and it handles it very well. even my old computer which has only 4GB ram can run it WITH GTA4.

 

I have 4GB and an old Core i5 750 and i have no trouble running it. When i double click to open the store it's almost instant. When i download a game the speed it is at the max speed my 1MB connection can do. When i switch between the store, my library or my profil it's instant. There might be a delay when it's a web page but it's normal. Games launch quickly. Cloud sync quickly. No trouble here.



#11 Athernar

Athernar

    ?

  • Joined: 15-December 04

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:12

This is the definition of bloat.

 

No, you're just being a big baby that's throwing it's toys out of the pram.

 

I also hope you're not using a web browser in a display environment to view this thread, real pros use curl in a stripped down terminal. What are you, some sort of bloatlord?



#12 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:12

This is the definition of bloat.

no, the definition of bloat is "features that very small percentage of users make use of". which non of those features fall into that category as many people use them



#13 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:12

This is the definition of bloat.

 

No.

 

Bloat is useless features nobody like making a computer runs slowly for no reason.

 

I'm sorry but i like the cloud saving. I'm sorry but i like the fiends list and the community. I like achievements. I like the library games page showing me news about the game and such. I like the forum.

 

And Steam is not making my computer runs badly. My computer has been running the whole day and i just played a game of Borderlands 2 and Steam is taking 12.4MB of rams.

 

It has its flaws like everything. But it's no bloatware.



#14 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:16

Ok, how do you disable Community, Friend Activity, Screenshots, Big Picture, that mail icon on the top right, etc...?

 

That was rhetorical question by the way.

 

While you can't disable a feature that is part of their website, because that's really what you've described mostly there, you can change the 'skin' of the application or simply edit the default to remove things such as links to Big Picture mode. Admittedly I've accidentally clicked the button before now, and it's not something I care for, but I do have a handful of gamers who game on their TV screens using big picture mode, a 10ft HDMI cable etc LOL

 

Also, you can set steam to 'offline' mode, once your games are installed you wont have to do the updates or have friends etc.

 

As for the speed of the downloads...  I think you probably need to either set your download region to somewhere better or start calling your ISP for better peering. My steam client is quite happy to download at 150Mbit all day long.

 

As for Ram hogging... maximum steam is going to be able to use is 2GB since its a 32bit application. If you're a gamer, you'll have at least 4GB in your system. That's usually more then enough for windows and steam and your 32bit games. If you have more then 4GB of ram and still finding you're running out of memory... It's probably not steams fault.

 

WKWjV3D.jpg



#15 giantpotato

giantpotato

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 04
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Posted 03 July 2013 - 03:20

View > small mode

 

Problem solved.