Jump to content



Photo

Ms Word request..


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 17:36

Hy. I have 2 questions related to Microsoft Word (2010)

1. Is there any chance to start numbering pages from .. page 4? So the first ones to be blank in terms of numbering?

2. Is there any chance to move outside the border the numbering ?

 

Thanks for any suggestion!

Attached Images

  • Capture.JPG



#2 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 17:59

Go to the page that you want the numbering to begin, and click the page number.

 

In header/footer tools tab, click Page Number > Format Page Numbers, and tell it to start from whatever you want. You may need some section break beforehand - I'm not sure.

 

Otherwise, post the document in question and we can make the necessary modifications.



#3 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 18:20

I wish to start numbering from 10.. and here's the doc.

 

further :

- if I wish such sort of organizing stuff?

Capture.jpg

Attached Images

  • Capture.JPG

Attached Files



#4 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 18:38

I have quickly looked at your Word file, and you definitely need to work with section breaks or learn how to use them instead of using the Enter key to insert line feeds, and jump pages. Then use headings properly to use the automatic TOC (Table of contents) of Word to create your own TOC. You do not enter that by hand.

 

 


Hy. I have 2 questions related to Microsoft Word (2010)
1. Is there any chance to start numbering pages from .. page 4? So the first ones to be blank in terms of numbering?
2. Is there any chance to move outside the border the numbering ?
 
Thanks for any suggestion!


#5 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 18:48

A sample file can be gold for your suggestions :shifty:



#6 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 18:57

This is basically a huge mess - I will try and add enough filler to demonstrate how breaks work in a way that you can swap in your own content.

 

Edit: Modified sample attached. I'm trying to demonstrate usage of the heading styles (tells Word that these mark structural elements of the document, assign Heading 1 to title, Heading 2 to chapter titles, Heading 3 to chapter subsections, etc), and section breaks, which further assist Word in figuring out what your document structure is intended to be.

Attached Files



#7 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:21

Then use headings properly to use the automatic TOC (Table of contents) of Word to create your own TOC. You do not enter that by hand.

 

Isn't a pain if I start my writing with contents table as that word.file is? Will become a pain to reverse procedure and link every single header..etc



#8 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:26

Isn't a pain if I start my writing with contents table as that word.file is? Will become a pain to reverse procedure and link every single header..etc

 

Not at all. 


Look at this corrected sample file. 

 

TURN ON the "Show all nonprinted characters", it's this button in the toolbar [ ¶ ] : You will see the page breaks, the section breaks, the pagination, etc.

 

 

You create the heading properly, and update the TOC at the very end. Everything will be created accordingly.



#9 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:28

I always add my TOC after the document is written - Word automatically generates one based on how you use Headers and sections, and includes all the correct page numbers. Two clicks, and then some formatting fluff if you want.



#10 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:40

I create it at the beginning, and only update it when it's done. 
 
The reason is simple: the different page breaks and sections are created right then and there. No need to fiddle with that at the end.
 
 

I always add my TOC after the document is written - Word automatically generates one based on how you use Headers and sections, and includes all the correct page numbers. Two clicks, and then some formatting fluff if you want.

 

--------------------------
 

 

You need to properly use the formatting toolbox or the formatting pane (or whatever they call it in your version of MS Word) to create consistent headings, texts, and everything else.

 

This is the Mac version. The Windows version will probably sit in the left-hand side sidebar.

 

 

 

---------------------------

 

 

Take it easy! Go simple. No need to over complicate your page numbering.

 

 

I wish to start numbering from 10.. and here's the doc.
 
further :
- if I wish such sort of organizing stuff?
Capture.jpg



#11 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:50

Take it easy! Go simple. No need to over complicate your page numbering.

 

That's the format I need.. firstly the chapter and then the page..no automation for this without special techniques (vba) guys :/  ?

 

Two clicks, and then some formatting fluff if you want.

 

you forgot on your file to number..pages. :huh:



#12 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 01 July 2013 - 19:58

No it's really easy to do. You just tick a box when inserting the page numbering.

 

That's the format I need.. firstly the chapter and then the page..no automation for this without special techniques (vba) guys :/  ?

 

you forgot on your file to number..pages. :huh:



#13 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 01 July 2013 - 21:35

Indeed.. succeed! :punk:



#14 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 02 July 2013 - 06:55

Hy.. please help me start with IV (4) on footer.. cause is the 4's page.. if I modify with IV it gives me further this format : IVI...IVII

 

Attached Images

  • Capture.JPG


#15 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 02 July 2013 - 12:28

Make sure that you created the section properly. This is probably happening because the roman numbering starts and ends depending on the footer.

To start the roman numbering before the current place, move the section break to the previous page.

To stop the roman numbering, you need to insert a section break. Go to the page where the roman numbering should stop. Double click in the footer of that page to edit it. And now, in the ribbon menu, select the header and footer tab (should probably be green). In the options before you, make sure that the "Link to previous" is not active. That should do it if the sections are properly set.

Don't forget to update the WHOLE table of contents at the end.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!