Jump to content



Photo

Is my System fast enough for new games?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Nestea10

Nestea10

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 13

Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:55

I have a Biostar Hi Fi A85W motherboard with 4 GB of RAM and a NVIDIA GTX 650. My processor is AMD A10-6700Is it wise to add more memory into the system? How much could i put and are there any problems with that?

 

I like playing Crysis but im not sure if my system is that fast enough? please help... i will put somehow 150$ for this i hope its enough.




#2 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:57

best way to find out with any particular game is this website, it compares what is required and recommended to play a game with a scan it does of your computer.

 

http://www.systemreq...ntslab.com/cyri



#3 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Novorossiya
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 18 July 2013 - 13:02

I'm not aware of any game which requires more than 4GB of RAM.

 

However, since you have 4GB in total and the operating system also uses RAM - it can make sense to increase it. I'd double it.



#4 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 18 July 2013 - 13:12

itll play it although you wont be able to whack the settings upto max. maybe only low to mid range gfx settings. also id get 8GB ram, its dirt cheap may as well have it. 



#5 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 18 July 2013 - 13:20

Up the ram to 8.

 

You should be able to play most games, just not on high settings.



#6 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: V'Ger 6.1.7601 x64
  • Phone: SQNY D5503

Posted 18 July 2013 - 13:24

Sell GTX 650, get 650Ti Boost.



#7 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 18 July 2013 - 19:13

Your system will run Crysis and quite decently at that, so start by trying it and then you can determine whether it's worth spending money to improve the framerate and/or detail level. Heck some people run Crysis on the A10 6700's integrated GPU, so you should be more than fine.



#8 OP Nestea10

Nestea10

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 13

Posted 28 July 2013 - 19:58

Thank you all for your input. Asik, thanks for your advice. I am playing the game now without any changes of the system, although its just middle settings. when i put it to high it feels kind of laggy.

 

i was just really worried because the fast changes in the tech world. I have no clue how good or bad a specific component is at the moment. I can remember 5 years ago it was much easier to get an idea of the performance ;)



#9 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 30 July 2013 - 00:59

I agree, add RAM if possible.

#10 Arkos Reed

Arkos Reed

    The Slayer of Gods

  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: The one and only rivierra

Posted 30 July 2013 - 22:12

I'm not aware of any game which requires more than 4GB of RAM.

 

However, since you have 4GB in total and the operating system also uses RAM - it can make sense to increase it. I'd double it.

 

Just a quick clarification, a 32bit OS is indeed limited to 4GB of adressable memory, however a single 32 bit process can only use 2GB whether the OS is 32bit or not.

To benefit from more ram, both your OS and game must be 64Bit (which isn't always the case).

However they do like more RAM... on the GFX card: 2GB or more of fast GDDR on a bus wider than 128 bits will always result in a boost.



#11 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: V'Ger 6.1.7601 x64
  • Phone: SQNY D5503

Posted 31 July 2013 - 03:17

Just a quick clarification, a 32bit OS is indeed limited to 4GB of adressable memory, however a single 32 bit process can only use 2GB whether the OS is 32bit or not.

 

Unless Large Address Aware is specified or patched afterwards, which raises address space to full 4 GB in 64-bit systems.



#12 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 31 July 2013 - 03:48

It's very easy to find out if RAM is an issue - just look at memory usage in task manager while running the game. If you're using close to your maximum then adding RAM could improve performance. Realistically though, you're limited by pretty much everything in your computer, but you'd gain the most by replacing the video card. The GTX 650 simply isn't that fast, so it's not surprising it has some difficulty running games maxed out. Unfortunately for 150$ you're not going to get something drastically better; the HD 7790 or GTX 650 Ti Boost would be your best bets but neither is that much faster than a GTX 650.