Jump to content



Photo

Add2 Video card with HDMI?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 21 July 2013 - 04:11

hey guys,

 

I am using a HP Compaq dc5700 Desktop PC as a media server under my big screen in my living room.

It is running windows 7 and is attached to my network. I stream all of my network content through it to the TV using the VGA cable and mini plug in to the stereo for sound.

 

That all works just fine but I wanted to switch it over to using HDMI. SO I just bought a low profile Geforce with HDMI installed it in the PCI Express port and got this error.

 

"

922 - This System Only supports SDVO Add2 in the X16 slot"

 

do they even make Add2 cards that have HDMI ports in them? I have not been able to find anything about this online that does me any good.

 

I have been building and fixing computers since the early 90's and I have never even heard of this before. I do have some Nvidia Quatro cards that were in these machines but they are not what I need.

is there any other way to get HDMI out of this machine???

 

http://www.orbitmicr...010-p-9301.html


Maybe something like this will work? what do you guys think??

 

http://www.orbitmicr...010-p-9301.html




#2 OP AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 23 July 2013 - 00:48

I just read something about the Assist button. I will try after my computer finishes running a hard disk scan of its drive.



#3 OP AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 23 July 2013 - 01:42

why do I feel like i'm just talking to my self on this forum??



#4 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 23 July 2013 - 01:44

edit 

statement withdrawn



#5 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 23 July 2013 - 01:46

why do I feel like i'm just talking to my self on this forum??

 

Most likely because none of us know about this, so we don't want to give you false information.



#6 OP AOXOMOXOA

AOXOMOXOA

    Gratefully Deadicated

  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Seattle wa.

Posted 23 July 2013 - 06:14

Most likely because none of us know about this, so we don't want to give you false information.

 

That's exceptable I guess.

 

still this issue sucks, I really wanted to make this HDMI



#7 Biohead

Biohead

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-November 05
  • Location: West Drayton, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:10

 

I had absolutely no idea what an ADD2 card was - had to go look it up.

 

The same search on google also threw this up: http://www.avforums....ally-exist.html. Specifically post #11. Bear in mind though, that it was over 6 years ago - it's not going to be easy to find such an old piece of hardware.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!