Jump to content



Photo

Create a guest network w/o a special router?

guest wifi

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 14 August 2013 - 12:57

^ what???

5 years ago -- you blind??

I show latest builds were dated 7-24-2013

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/07-24-2013-r22118/


#17 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 August 2013 - 14:01

Sorry guys, good info but it's off topic

 

Let's help the OP with his problem :)

 

To the OP, I think you'll need software to do it or get a "special router" (that already has the software basically).

DD-WRT or Tomato or other 3rd part stuff is the best way to go in this regard unless you want to buy said special router.



#18 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 15 August 2013 - 03:47

^ what???

5 years ago -- you blind??

I show latest builds were dated 7-24-2013

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/07-24-2013-r22118/


I'm not talking about trunk builds or whatever, I'm talking about "stable" builds. I'd never recommend using OpenWRT trunk builds to somebody, but I have no problem recommending stable builds, and stable OpenWRT builds have the benefit of not being out of date.

#19 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 15 August 2013 - 11:05

Your statement was "supported" releases, they support the current releases be it they call them stable or not, etc..

I run development code for pfsense, not considered stable by any means.. But its clearly supported, if you find an issue you report it. Normally next snapshot that comes out corrects it, etc.

So the current version for openwrt is great, unless your on a lower end box.. Then they suggest you use backfire, which is OLD -- so what is your point?

"Lower end devices with only 16 MiB RAM will easily run out of Memory, for bcm47xx based devices is Backfire with brcm-2.4 recommended"

Clearly dd-wrt is being supported -- look at their changes and tickets
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/timeline

Just because they don't call the release "stable" seems an odd reason to tell someone not to use it.. Are they in an enterprise with 100's of people using the internet and if the router goes down they loose their job or get some boss yelling at them -- wtf you using non "stable" code for ;)

#20 OP bomba6

bomba6

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-October 05

Posted 16 August 2013 - 16:27

Solved by installing DD-WRT on the main 741.

Easy installation, not so straight forward configuration, but explained really well in their Wiki.

 

Thanks everybody.



#21 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 August 2013 - 16:33

out of curiosity which build did you install ;) What was the date on it?

#22 OP bomba6

bomba6

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-October 05

Posted 16 August 2013 - 19:25

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/24/13) std
(SVN revision 22118)



#23 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:02

Well that sure looks newer than 5 years old ;)

Dude I don't think you understand the use of answer feature.. Looks to me that manroweb was first to suggest dd-wrt, so he really should be the best answer.. Or if someone gave you clearer detailed instructions on using dd-wrt, then they would get the best answer flag, etc.

Not your own post ;) Saying you put dd-wrt on it and working.