Jump to content



Photo

BattleNet Desktop App Beta - Now Live and Open!

battlenet beta windows mac

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 14 August 2013 - 20:15

The Battle.Net desktop app beta is now live and open for all three of Blizzard's flagship games - including their Starter Editions.  There are both Windows and OS X versions, so, unless you want to play on Android or iOS, you're covered.

 




#2 remco8264

remco8264

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-July 12

Posted 14 August 2013 - 20:20

A download link would be handy ;)

https://us.battle.ne...d/?show=bnetapp



#3 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 14 August 2013 - 20:26

I installed this yesterday and it is kinda handy but ultimately redundant. only 3 games are supported (Wow, SC, Diablo) if you are playing one of them more than the others you can load directly to the game faster than loading this up each time. but i suppose some folks would like a centralized place for their Blizzard games.

 

Personally I just added the executable for each game into Steam :D



#4 OP PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 15 August 2013 - 17:34

I installed this yesterday and it is kinda handy but ultimately redundant. only 3 games are supported (Wow, SC, Diablo) if you are playing one of them more than the others you can load directly to the game faster than loading this up each time. but i suppose some folks would like a centralized place for their Blizzard games.

 

Personally I just added the executable for each game into Steam :D

Actually, you can leave it resident (like the Steam or Origin clients), which it is, in fact, designed for.  While you can create shortcuts in Steam (or in Origin, for that matter), it's not THAT piggy.  If you already HAVE one or more installed, you will NOT need to download them again (I had Starcraft II installed - just not D-III or WoW).



#5 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 29 August 2013 - 18:58

I have D3 and SCII installed and after a few updates of the client its actually running on a much smaller footprint and i have noticed now (since before I had not opened a game with it) that it replaces the launchers for the games themselves making it just a nice hub. I hope at some point in the future they add the Battle.net chat functionality to the app so we do not have to launch a game just to talk to our friends (like in steam)