Jump to content



Photo

Router fails to display "DHCP Client List" page


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:11

It's a Belkin F5D8633-4 v1.

 

It just "Loads" forever and only shows a blank page.

 

All other pages on the router config work fine.

 

Any ideas why?




#2 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:15

Tried different browsers?



#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:17

Tried different browsers?

Of course :)

It's a router issue.

#4 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:21

gonna state the obvious here but have you tried power cycling the router?

 

i've had similar weird issues before on my moto surfboard that was solved by simply restarting the router



#5 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:29

Start dev mode in your browser I guess and see where it's getting hung up? Then again it could just be the router not loading that page because it's corrupt or something. Backup your settings and flash the firmware again then load your settings back?



#6 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 16 August 2013 - 21:05

Either you've got a device on your network that the detection script is failing on (Usually a character issue) or it's related to the firmware version you have installed/been dumped with.

 

I've had both happen with various Belkin products that are now serving as access points. I have an Belkin N1 that goes ape-###### trying to detect the hostname of another Belkin router (Which is called BELKIN).

 

It's a non-issue, plenty of good software available to work around network discovery/browsing.



#7 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 17 August 2013 - 22:10

Start dev mode in your browser I guess and see where it's getting hung up? Then again it could just be the router not loading that page because it's corrupt or something. Backup your settings and flash the firmware again then load your settings back?

How can I check where it's hanging? I use Firefox.

 

Am I right I thinking if I flash an older firmware (I believe the new firmware is the one hanging), I'll loose all the settings? (if so, I can't do this because it's my letting agents that have those settings, I live in a House of Multiple Occupancy).

 

Either you've got a device on your network that the detection script is failing on (Usually a character issue) or it's related to the firmware version you have installed/been dumped with.

 

I've had both happen with various Belkin products that are now serving as access points. I have an Belkin N1 that goes ape-**** trying to detect the hostname of another Belkin router (Which is called BELKIN).

 

It's a non-issue, plenty of good software available to work around network discovery/browsing.

Are you saying there are ways to see who is connected to Wi-Fi other than the router's "DHCP Client List" page?



#8 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 17 August 2013 - 23:56

King Mustard, on 17 Aug 2013 - 23:10, said:King Mustard, on 17 Aug 2013 - 23:10, said:King Mustard, on 17 Aug 2013 - 23:10, said:

How can I check where it's hanging? I use Firefox.

 

Am I right I thinking if I flash an older firmware (I believe the new firmware is the one hanging), I'll loose all the settings? (if so, I can't do this because it's my letting agents that have those settings, I live in a House of Multiple Occupancy).

 

Are you saying there are ways to see who is connected to Wi-Fi other than the router's "DHCP Client List" page?

 

Lots but some are a lot more complicated than others and your Belkin will limit your success for the easy methods. If you can SSH onto the router for example (Which I doubt for your Belkin I'm afraid), you can show the connected devices on wlan0 via MAC address then marry it up against the list of clients served addresses via the DHCP daemon.

You could run a tool like "Wake On Lan" from Nirsoft which does some easy scanning of local IP / NetBIOS to discover active, dormant and past LAN devices in addition to shouting at them until they wake up.

You could also run your own DHCP server and turn off the router's DHCP service, this will show you who has been served an address on your network and MAC address rules / filtering can allow you to target specific devices.

You can also use Wireshark on your LAN to capture ARP requests which will divulge MAC addresses via sender and destination, so devices communicating on your LAN.

 

EDIT: For a low tech easy method, try Windows Vista/7 Network Discovery Map





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!