Jump to content



Photo

New build - BIOS only partly detects hard drive


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 13:46

When I boot the PC, I see screenshot 1, screenshot 2 and then after screeenshot 2, I just get black screen a blinking prompt at the top left.

 

I have installed a bootable copy of the Windows 7 installer to a USB flash drive. If I boot from that (using F8), it seems to do something for a few seconds before the system reboots. Setup does not resume.

 

The hard drive works perfectly in my main PC.

 

Screenshot 3 is the Main section of the BIOS. It contains:

  • Storage Configuration (Screenshot 4)
  • AHCI Configuration (Screenshot 5 and Screenshot 6)

Screenshot 7 is the Boot section of the BIOS. It contains:

  • Boot Device Priority (Screenshot 8)
  • Hard Disk Drives (Screenshot 9)

01.jpg

 

02.jpg

 

03.jpg

 

03-1.jpg

 

03-2.jpg

 

03-2-1.jpg

 

04.jpg

 

04-1.jpg

 

04-2.jpg




#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 18 August 2013 - 13:51

First guess (as something similar happened to me on my M2N SLi-Deluxe) have you tried flashing the bios to a different version? I had to bo back to an older cersion (!.6, I think) as the latest version bugged my pc

(windows didn't boot properly, system didn't 'see' my other 2 hard drives etc... gave up and found the older bios data and it fixed everything)



#3 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 August 2013 - 13:54

Have you / can you test the drive in a different system.



#4 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:01

Have you / can you test the drive in a different system.

It works fantastically in my main PC.



#5 daorbed9

daorbed9

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 13
  • Location: NC

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:08

Unplug the hard drive and see if it boots, if not its not the hard drive.  Everything is fine in the bios from you ss.



#6 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:17

Unplug the hard drive and see if it boots, if not its not the hard drive.  Everything is fine in the bios from you ss.

What do you mean, if it boots? It's booting just fine now.

 

The only issue is when the hard drive takes over, and that won't change if the drive is removed.



#7 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:19

First guess (as something similar happened to me on my M2N SLi-Deluxe) have you tried flashing the bios to a different version? I had to bo back to an older cersion (!.6, I think) as the latest version bugged my pc

(windows didn't boot properly, system didn't 'see' my other 2 hard drives etc... gave up and found the older bios data and it fixed everything)

I have 0904 installed. I'll try 1102.



#8 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:19

Ok so number one... the BIOS detecting the drive is one controller.. the JMICRON is the second controller on the board.. so the drive is only going to show up on one of those...



#9 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:20

Ok so number one... the BIOS detecting the drive is one controller.. the JMICRON is the second controller on the board.. so the drive is only going to show up on one of those...

How do I fix this?



#10 daorbed9

daorbed9

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 13
  • Location: NC

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:21

I have installed a bootable copy of the Windows 7 installer to a USB flash drive. If I boot from that (using F8), it seems to do something for a few seconds before the system reboots. Setup does not resume.

 

Your words are confusing then.  Did you finish installing windows, to the point it boots in windows for the first time, user setup etc.



#11 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:22

How do I fix this?

 

What motherboard is it? look at your manual there should be like 8 SATA ports, 6 will be onboard, 2 will be the 2nd controller.. just make sure you are plugged into the onboard and disable the 2nd controller in the bios.



#12 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:22

Ok so number one... the BIOS detecting the drive is one controller.. the JMICRON is the second controller on the board.. so the drive is only going to show up on one of those...

JMicron doesn't show up any devices connected on mine, but as everything works, (I just ignore the Jmicron post)



#13 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:25

Your words are confusing then.  Did you finish installing windows, to the point it boots in windows for the first time, user setup etc.

I installed a bootable copy of the Windows 7 installer to a USB flash drive. Makes sense to me :) It acts like a disk ISO.

 

When I try to boot from it, after a few seconds, the computer restarts. Not even the Windows setup loading screen appears.

 

What motherboard is it? look at your manual there should be like 8 SATA ports, 6 will be onboard, 2 will be the 2nd controller.. just make sure you are plugged into the onboard and disable the 2nd controller in the bios.

It's in the first screenshot, an Asus P7H55-M SI :) It only has one bank of 6x SATA ports.



#14 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:28

That's weird then, cause I don't think that board even has a JMicron controller on it.

 

Did you install a PCI/PCI express controller card also?



#15 AStaley

AStaley

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-August 04
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64, OSX Mavericks, Elementary OS, Server 2008 R2/2012 R2, CentOS.
  • Phone: iPhone 4 (IOS7.1.1)

Posted 18 August 2013 - 14:29

How many hard drives do you have installed.  Looking at you BIOS screens you have a CD/DVD drive and a Western Digital HD, assuming you don't have any other drive installed then what you are seeing is correct.  uoi have two HD controllers, 1 Intel and 1 JMicron, there is nothing attached to the JMicron which is what that screen is telling you.  To get rid of that message you need to go back in to the BIOS and disable the JMicron controller.

 

If you aren't getting the Win7 installer when booting from the USB drive I would try recreating it from scratch.  What process did you follow to create it?