Jump to content



Photo

Setup my own opensource Dropbox alternative!

Answered Go to the full post clouddropbrox owncloud opensource free

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#16 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 11:48

would it be "sudo mount <source location> <mount point folder/destination>" ??




#17 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 September 2013 - 11:58

Yes - that'll do it for a one-time mount.

 

You need to edit /etc/fstab for something that mounts automatically at boot.

 

See: http://www.ghacks.ne...share-in-linux/



#18 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:04

Yes - that'll do it for a one-time mount.

 

You need to edit /etc/fstab for something that mounts automatically at boot.

 

See: http://www.ghacks.ne...share-in-linux/

 Thanks, Ill try this, would this fix "Can't create data directory" error? or would I need to reset the config.php (which i really can't figure out)

 

Ran the command, got this error. 

root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# //192.168.1.1/segate(sda1) -U admin
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `sda1'
root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# 


Edited by Koshur, 07 September 2013 - 12:08.


#19 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:10

Requesting a TM session.. 

 

User ID: 196281112


Edited by Koshur, 07 September 2013 - 12:12.


#20 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:11

I think you can just delete config.php



#21 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:11

I think you can just delete config.php

Tried to. but i wont allow. throws permission error. 



#22 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:13

use sudo?



#23 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:20

ok. so i root into the /var/www/owncloud/config and deleted the config.php and config-sample.php. and i now see the default login screen! But i'm still dicey about the auto mount would work since it wont recognize  

root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# //192.168.1.1/segate(sda1) -U admin



#24 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:40

Ok for one thing from your screeny, seqate(sda1) is NOT your share name.. its just segate

See
sharename.png

So I have no idea why your putting that in your command? That might be your whole issue in your smb : // attempt..

And wouldn't it be seagate anyway? That is the name of the drive company, not segate ;)

#25 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 12:56

Ok for one thing from your screeny, seqate(sda1) is NOT your share name.. its just segate

See
attachicon.gifsharename.png

So I have no idea why your putting that in your command? That might be your whole issue in your smb : // attempt..

And wouldn't it be seagate anyway? That is the name of the drive company, not segate ;)

 

ok, so here's the output:

root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# smbclient //192.168.1.1/segate -U admin
Enter admin's password: 
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.14a]
tree connect failed: NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME
root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# 

segate - well this would have been how it first can to my mind. :)

 

Here is how my Index of look like for admin:

Index of.png



#26 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 September 2013 - 13:07

that is not your smb index of shares - your hitting ftp in that screeny not \\servername

Here is example of smb shares on a server

exampleofindexofrootshare.png

#27 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 13:14

I guess mine would then be this:

 

Screenshot from 2013-09-07 18:43:05.png

Screenshot from 2013-09-07 18:43:15.png

Screenshot from 2013-09-07 18:43:36.png

 

The issue here is the space in device name.

 



#28 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 07 September 2013 - 13:14

not sure if it was answered or not, but adsl%20router is showing you a special character, in this case a space. for unix to like this, it needs " " around the path, or a backslash after asdl (asdl\ router). or alternativly you can remove that space from your asdl routers name. If other things are configured this can be problematic. Hope this helps you with future special characters. also remember Asdlrouter is different from asdlrouter in the unix world (caps matter, extensions don't)

 

I got owncloud installed on my freeBSD server and super easy to get working, but it was terrible at performing.. very buggy, froze the server up every time a file over 2MB was transferred. Good thing I made backups! Hope your ubuntu install goes better.



#29 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 September 2013 - 13:24   Best Answer

I don't think that is the correct syntax for smbclient, I would think you should have to escape \ so it would be like \\\\192.168.1.1

But I think you can just do something with -L and the IP.. it will throw out some errors but should work

budman@ubuntu:/$ smbclient -L 192.168.1.8
Enter budman's password:
Domain=[STORAGE] OS=[Windows Storage Server 2008 R2 Essentials 7601 Service Pack 1] Server=[Windows Storage Server 2008 R2 Essentials 6.1]

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
        ADMIN$          Disk      Remote Admin
        C$              Disk      Default share
        D$              Disk      Default share
        F$              Disk      Default share
        G$              Disk      Default share
        H$              Disk      Default share
        IPC$            IPC       Remote IPC
        J               Disk
        J$              Disk      Default share
        Media           Disk
        Molly           Disk
        Music           Disk
        temp            Disk
session request to 192.168.1.8 failed (Called name not present)
session request to 192 failed (Called name not present)
session request to *SMBSERVER failed (Called name not present)
NetBIOS over TCP disabled -- no workgroup available
budman@ubuntu:/$


#30 OP Koshur

Koshur

    Neowite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-February 12
  • OS: Win7, Ubuntu 12.04LTS, PinguyOS 11.10, Backtrack 5R2, Zorin OS

Posted 07 September 2013 - 13:31

thanks.. it worked with 

 /home/koshur# smbclient -L //192.168.1.1/segate -U admin
root@koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s:/home/koshur# smbclient -L //192.168.1.1/segate -U admin
Enter admin's password: 
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.14a]
 
Sharename       Type      Comment
---------       ----      -------
segate(sda1)    Disk      
movies(sda1)    Disk      
IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (Samba Server)
ADMIN$          IPC       IPC Service (Samba Server)
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.14a]
 
Server               Comment
---------            -------
ADSL ROUTER          Samba Server
KOSHUR-HP-PROBO      koshur-HP-ProBook-4530s server (Samba, Ubu
 
Workgroup            Master
---------            -------
WORKGROUP            KOSHUR-HP-PROBO
 

I'll try testing it for some time and decide if i should stick to it or not. 

 

Cheers!!