Jump to content



Photo

Cannot upgrade to Windows 8.1; Your PC ran into trouble

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 20:35

I just downloaded Windows 8.1 from TechNet, but I cannot upgrade my notebook to it keeping all settings and documents. Specs of notebook in my sig.

Everything is going OK, until the last boot.... than a blue screen appears "your PC ran into into trouble :(" and than it resets/reverts to my initial Windows 8 installation. And no Windows 8.1 is installed.

What can be the case here?

EDIT:
Can it be with related with installed software like Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 and/or Logitech Setpoint drivers for my mouse or other (known) software?

Best Answer kiddingguy , 09 September 2013 - 21:50

It's Kaspersky..... I cannot install KIS2014 onto Windows 8.1.

Yet....

Go to the full post



#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 09 September 2013 - 20:38

Run a chkdsk /f in a admin command prompt and tell it yes to run on next reboot, then reboot. Also update your video drivers prior to upgrading.. start there and try again/report back



#3 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 20:42

Run a chkdsk /f in a admin command prompt and tell it yes to run on next reboot, then reboot. Also update your video drivers prior to upgrading.. start there and try again/report back

Chkdsk is running. It scanned and repaired....
I have an ATi GPU installed. Do I need to install their latest beta-drivers for Windows 8.0/8.1

#4 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 09 September 2013 - 20:50

Check your device manager and see if you have any yellow mark with !  If so, check and see if you can update your drivers



#5 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:28

Installing now.... almost last phase of setting up. Currently at 84%.
I uninstalled Kaspersky and installed the Catalyst 13.10 Beta drivers

#6 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:38

Looks OK now... running Windows 8.1 now
Just checking some Linksys settings and Kaspersky now....

#7 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:50   Best Answer

It's Kaspersky..... I cannot install KIS2014 onto Windows 8.1.

Yet....



#8 Tews

Tews

    Professional Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-October 03
  • Location: Somewhere on a beach

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:54

Have you tried running the install.exe program in compatibility mode?? 



#9 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 21:59

Have you tried running the install.exe program in compatibility mode??


Doesn't work... Message that is shown:
Failed to install the application. Current OS is not supported.

#10 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 09 September 2013 - 22:02

Could have been Kaspersky the whole time..



#11 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 22:09

Could have been Kaspersky the whole time..


Guess so too. Hopefully they'll make it compatible soon, because I - and others - will not be unprotected for a whole month......

#12 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 09 September 2013 - 22:10

Guess so too. Hopefully they'll make it compatible soon, because I - and others - will not be unprotected for a whole month......

what's wrong with enabling Windows Defender (aka MSE) for the rime being?

better than being completely unprotected, even if you don't like the suite



#13 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 09 September 2013 - 22:11

Avast works I believe, there's also defender built in... It's crap but it's better than nothing.



#14 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 09 September 2013 - 22:58

Windows Defender has been activated ;)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!