Jump to content



Photo

WQHD Monitor


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Cyplex

Cyplex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: US

Posted 13 September 2013 - 15:35

I'm looking to upgrade my 27" LED Samsung 1920x1080 monitor (SMS27A350H) to a WQHD 2560 x 1440 variant due to wanting more real estate and needing a VESA mount capability.

When I purchased the Samsung I did not realize that at this stage of monitors a VESA mount was not available with this particular model.

 

Old monitor for reference:

S27A350H_7.jpg

 

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

I was pretty much set on getting an Apple 27" LED cinema display until I noticed yesterday that their latest variant is only compatible with Apple products.... what a bummer.

With that I would like to get a glossy style finish (instead of full matte) but can't seem to really find one at 27" with WQHD resolution, and a VESA mount is a must since I will be wall mounting it.

 

Also, the usage for the new monitor will be for all an around purpose (gaming, movies, internet browsing, very light amateur photo editing, no video editing though).
The video card that I will match this to is a nVidia 580GTX which will get upgraded next year.

 

During my research I seem to have narrowed it down to two, but want to make sure I'm not missing any another viable choice.

 

1) ASUS PB Series PB278Q 27" 5ms (GTG) WQHD Widescreen PLS-Panel LED Monitor 100% SRGB ( http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824236294 ) $559.99

305604-asus-pb278q-angle.jpg

 

2) Dell UltraSharp U2713HM Black & Silver 27" 8ms (GTG) WQHD Widescreen IPS-Panel LED Monitor ( http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824260111 ) $699.99

dell.jpg

 

 

EDIT: At this stage should I also be considering a 120hz monitor? 3D is irrelevant to me.

 

 

 

 

Opinions? Comments? Suggestions?

 

PS -> I will not necessarily be buying the monitor via Newegg.com

 

Thanks!




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 September 2013 - 16:38

Why not just get two screens? I use 2 x 23" screens. Just use 2 27"



#3 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 13 September 2013 - 17:50

What makes you think the Apple LED Cinema Display is only compatible with Apple products?

 

Anywhere that you have read this?



#4 OP Cyplex

Cyplex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: US

Posted 14 September 2013 - 12:10

Why not just get two screens? I use 2 x 23" screens. Just use 2 27"

 

I'd rather have one single monitor instead of two (less clutter in my view).

 

 

What makes you think the Apple LED Cinema Display is only compatible with Apple products?

 

Anywhere that you have read this?

 

Well, I guess I looked online at the Apple 27" LED Thunderbolt Cinema Display and that was it.

I didn't realize there are two identical (Thunderbolt vs Non-Thunderbolt) options specially since they share the same exact cost of $999.

 

Furthermore when I went to my local Best Buy (just to play with the monitor) their "Apple Certified Tech" did state they are not compatible with PC products.

I'm pretty sure she does not know either that there are two options available.

 

I did find this adapter at Amazon.com for ~$6. Should I be concerned with signal loss going through an adapter like this?

 

Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Adapter Cable

41etPlByoaL.jpg

 

 

 

Thanks!

Rich



#5 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 14 September 2013 - 13:26

Well, I guess I looked online at the Apple 27" LED Thunderbolt Cinema Display and that was it.
I didn't realize there are two identical (Thunderbolt vs Non-Thunderbolt) options specially since they share the same exact cost of $999.
 
Furthermore when I went to my local Best Buy (just to play with the monitor) their "Apple Certified Tech" did state they are not compatible with PC products.
I'm pretty sure she does not know either that there are two options available.
 
I did find this adapter at Amazon.com for ~$6. Should I be concerned with signal loss going through an adapter like this?

 
The Thunderbolt version will also work with a PC, as long as you have the requisite hardware in the PC - admittedly most don't.
 
As for the adaptor, it won't work. Converting from DisplayPort (mini or otherwise) to HDMI is easy but going the other way round actually requires an active adaptor (i.e. one that has a power supply). Furthermore HDMI often cannot stretch to WQHD resolutions, you really need a graphics card with dual link DVI-D (and an active adaptor) or DisplayPort.

#6 OP Cyplex

Cyplex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: US

Posted 14 September 2013 - 22:16

 
The Thunderbolt version will also work with a PC, as long as you have the requisite hardware in the PC - admittedly most don't.
 
As for the adaptor, it won't work. Converting from DisplayPort (mini or otherwise) to HDMI is easy but going the other way round actually requires an active adaptor (i.e. one that has a power supply). Furthermore HDMI often cannot stretch to WQHD resolutions, you really need a graphics card with dual link DVI-D (and an active adaptor) or DisplayPort.

 

 

My ASUS 580GTX has two DVI ports and a mini-HDMI port, so it should work? 

Meaning I would be using DisplayPort to MiniHDMI, right?

 

This is my card

 

T2_Image_02.jpg



#7 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 14 September 2013 - 23:40

My ASUS 580GTX has two DVI ports and a mini-HDMI port, so it should work? 

Meaning I would be using DisplayPort to MiniHDMI, right?

 

This is my card

 

T2_Image_02.jpg

 

Even if HDMI supported the resolution (you could always use dual-link DVI), you need a box like this one:

http://www.rcblogic....CFaPHtAodQ1QADQ

 

You can buy an Asus GTX 660 with a DisplayPort connection for the same money as that box in the UK.



#8 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 15 September 2013 - 08:27

My ASUS 580GTX has two DVI ports and a mini-HDMI port, so it should work? 

Meaning I would be using DisplayPort to MiniHDMI, right?

 

This is my card

 

T2_Image_02.jpg

 

Personally, unless you buy a graphics card with mini display port, I would forget about the Apple Cinema Display. It's just going to end up costing you a fortune. The ACD/TBD are only really a good buy if you use them with a Mac for the extra features, etc.

 

For the record, U2713HM A00 (original) and A01 have quite a few panel issues. The revised/new A00 and the A02 have a much better panel (they now use the same LG panel that Apple uses in the current gen iMacs. Might be pot luck as to which one you get.



#9 OP Cyplex

Cyplex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: US

Posted 15 September 2013 - 14:11

Even if HDMI supported the resolution (you could always use dual-link DVI), you need a box like this one:

http://www.rcblogic....CFaPHtAodQ1QADQ

 

You can buy an Asus GTX 660 with a DisplayPort connection for the same money as that box in the UK.

Having to do so many changes / possible adapters as well as starting at ~$300 over the other choices is making me cringe really about the Apple monitor.

 

Personally, unless you buy a graphics card with mini display port, I would forget about the Apple Cinema Display. It's just going to end up costing you a fortune. The ACD/TBD are only really a good buy if you use them with a Mac for the extra features, etc.

 

For the record, U2713HM A00 (original) and A01 have quite a few panel issues. The revised/new A00 and the A02 have a much better panel (they now use the same LG panel that Apple uses in the current gen iMacs. Might be pot luck as to which one you get.

 

How about the ASUS variant I mentioned?

Or should I be looking at the U2713H instead of the U2713HM?

Or anything else?

 

 

Thanks!