Jump to content



Photo

Help, computer loses video signal then just stops responding.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 cpu killer

cpu killer

    Beta Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-October 03
  • Location: Gainesville, FL

Posted 14 September 2013 - 20:04

So I've got an issue and I have no idea where to start troubleshooting. I just recently upgraded from an i7 870 to an i5 4670K, and from what I can tell the issue just started after the upgrade. Here are my specs:

 

Intel i5 4670K

Asus Z87-PRO

2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-2400

1x Samsung 840 250gb SSD

1x Hitachi Deskstar T7K500 500GB

Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB GV-R795WF3-3GD

NZXT Guardia RB921 Mid-ATX Case

Antec EarthWatts 750W PSU

 

The problem occurs at random, I haven't really seen a pattern, although I have noticed it happening slightly more often when the PC is at load. I loose video signal, and the computer keeps running but is not responding. Right before losing the video signal whatever I'm doing usually locks up for 5-10 seconds.

 

Does anyone have any idea where to start looking into this? I can't seem to find anything in the Windows event viewer, but I might not be looking in the right place...




#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 14 September 2013 - 20:09

have you tried running off integrated graphics to see if you still get the issue?

are there any related error logs showing up in event viewer?



#3 winrez

winrez

    Chronic Master Debater

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location: Manitowoc, WI
  • OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit, Windows 8 64-Bit, Windows RT 8.1 (Surface)
  • Phone: Samsung Focus WP7.8/ Nokia Lumina 520

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:06

I would check the motherboard and video card for bulged, blown or leaking capacitors



#4 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:30

id say try it with the integrated see if that works. maybe try taking your card to a friends house and stick it in there machine see if same thing happens but if it started from the upgrade and all other components where the same like video card etc then its probably a broken motherboard



#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: V'Ger 6.1.7601 x64
  • Phone: SQNY D5503

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:34

Afaik, solid polymer caps don't leak. They either work or they don't. Anyway, Z87-PROs seems to have some design mistakes or something. Two of them have been returned for me (one didn't want to turn itself off, amazing as it might be, the other less inspiring - just dead) and there are rather many unfavorable reviews about various issues in general.

 

Run it with the integrated video and try overloading it with, for example, Intel Burn Test. Don't fry it, of course. If it repeats, with some certainty it's the board, if only because ASUS has really gone away lately.



#6 OP cpu killer

cpu killer

    Beta Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-October 03
  • Location: Gainesville, FL

Posted 16 September 2013 - 01:17

Thanks everyone for the replies. I stupidly realized that I had overclocekd my video card, but forgotten to up the voltage. I have no idea why this didn't occur to me, I had been running this overclock forever beforehand but just had the correct clock/voltage settings. I feel pretty dumb right now.

 

After fixing the voltage, I have Intel Burn Test 10 pass stability test, 10 hours of Prime95 on Blend, and FurMark for 1 hour. All seems stable now, so, fingers crossed.



#7 Slammers

Slammers

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 08

Posted 16 September 2013 - 02:13

Any reason you need to overclock a 7950?



#8 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 16 September 2013 - 02:31

Afaik, solid polymer caps don't leak.

Just FYI, they do but it's extremely rare. Ironically, the ones I've done have all been on video cards.



#9 OP cpu killer

cpu killer

    Beta Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-October 03
  • Location: Gainesville, FL

Posted 17 September 2013 - 15:43

Any reason you need to overclock a 7950?

 

Well, mostly to be able to run Crysis 3 maxed out at 1920x1080. Even then I had to calm down on the AA a bit. But overall, it works pretty stable @ 1.25v  overclocked to 1100/1400.

 

Thanks again for the help/input, I am glad to say after a couple of days of repeated stress testing, the system seems to be stable. Yay.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!