Jump to content



Photo

Win 8.1 + BF4


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:02

well MS changed there dx11.1 code inw in 8 to support BF4better at the game lvl cus DICE admitted it so bf running on win 8 systems should be better but if upgrading to 8.1 how much better wil it be.... 8.1 will be the only OS version currently to utitlise 11.2 MS tile based renderer but does that mean the gfx cards have to support 11.2 through a hardware implementation or is it purely a software trick. AMD did say 11.2 is applicble to the 7xxxx series through a driver updaty as the 280x is basically a better tuner 7970 i.e. Tahiti XTL

 

Now theres more to the story, dx 11.2 tile based stuf doesnt need as mnuch render power to create the games could tht be game changing or coukld MANTLE vias amd be an "app killer" as ppl refer to. provding low level coding to a bloated dx api could slim it down and provide FAR faster response times drawcalls or whatever and anniholiate the nvidia series??? games would need to provide a mantle api path but if it proves success in bf4... good thing is ppl can measure real world frames now then when the mantle update hits see if things improve, i think thstd a better example. hope it does well but here it is...

 

give your thoughts,.... no flame posts pls




#2 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:05

I'm not sure I can read what you wrote.

 

But Mantle should annihilate dx11.2, and NV isn't excluded from using it.

 

I don't think BF4 will use dx11.2.



#3 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:39

I find this highly unlikely.
 

I can't see how BF4 is a compelling reason to "up"grade to Windows 8.x - I'll wait to see the differences when the final release lands though.

 



#4 OP psionicinversion

psionicinversion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-June 05

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:47

I find this highly unlikely.
 

I can't see how BF4 is a compelling reason to "up"grade to Windows 8.x - I'll wait to see the differences when the final release lands though.

 

 

well if ya watched AMD GDC #14 conference DICE asked MS to change some DX 11 code or someat to enhance the performance of BF4 in win 8 which they did, it probably doesnt support 11.2 but if all the facts about overhead in th dx api is true and why consoles dont suffer from it cus its directed api/hardware etc is probably AMD's way of getting far better performance. True its not technically limited to radeon hardware and nvidia could use it if they want but straying from there CUDA implementation may be a bitter pill to swallow when t comes from there direct competitior



#5 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 08 October 2013 - 06:39

 DICE asked MS to change some DX 11 code or someat t

We'll see.



#6 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 09 October 2013 - 02:42

I find this highly unlikely.
 

I can't see how BF4 is a compelling reason to "up"grade to Windows 8.x - I'll wait to see the differences when the final release lands though.

 

DICE has gone on the record that BF4 does run better on Windows 8. How much better remains to be seen, but I do not think they would be saying it does if it really does not.

 

Here is a twitter conversation with a BF dev saying as much.

 

Also, here is an article on Kotaku about it.



#7 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 09 October 2013 - 02:49

Large game devs always have input over the API progress, it's nothing new (AMD and nvidia are on the OpenGL board, etc.)

As for Mantle, with the perfect combination it'll help, but Nvidia or so are never going to use it, I see it going the way of Glide eventually (Or any other proprietary API)

#8 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 09 October 2013 - 03:02

I find this highly unlikely.
 
I can't see how BF4 is a compelling reason to "up"grade to Windows 8.x - I'll wait to see the differences when the final release lands though.


people are getting 10-40 fps extra using win8 compared to win7 with the beta. theres also less audio stuttering,and all around smoother gameplay.



#9 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 09 October 2013 - 03:09

people are getting 10-40 fps extra using win8 compared to win7 with the beta. theres also less audio stuttering,and all around smoother gameplay.

And if I can get all of those already, then i'd say it's not a big deal.

 

It's a beta though, so i'm not going to jump to conclusions - however saying that, if those issues are present, then i'd say that some optimisation is in order!



#10 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 25 October 2013 - 22:33

Does anyone know if a DX 11.0 card like an AMD 6950 can benefit at all from directx 11.1 in BF4/win8? are parts of dx11.1 backwards compatible with dx 11.0 hardware? (I thought I remembered reading something about this, but I've found conflicting information).



#11 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 25 October 2013 - 22:36

And if I can get all of those already, then i'd say it's not a big deal.

 

It's a beta though, so i'm not going to jump to conclusions - however saying that, if those issues are present, then i'd say that some optimisation is in order!

BF4 is optimized for Dx11.1 features included on Windows 8, but are not on Windows 7. It's about as optimized for that OS as it's going to get.



#12 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 25 October 2013 - 22:36

Mantle is an open API afaik...

Apparently not.



#13 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 25 October 2013 - 22:37

ah that's disappointing. I remember when they first announced it they said it was going to be open, and then I guess they went and made it proprietary instead :/



#14 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 25 October 2013 - 22:39

Nvidia would have to adopt the GCN architecture, which is VERY unlikely.



#15 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 27 October 2013 - 05:18

It may not be open source but it is from what I've read open to other vendors.

 

While it is currently targeted at GCN and may stay that way for a while, I don't doubt it will grow.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!