Jump to content



Photo

Router a few years old, time for upgrade?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 20:53

I currently have the internet package of 25mbps, and just upgraded it to 50mbps. I was wondering if I should upgrade my router since it is probably 4 years or so old.

 

It looks like this version:

http://support.netge...roduct/WGR614v9

 

I'm currently not at home right now to check which correct version it is.

 

Also, should I buy my own modem and not use the companies?




#2 blade1269

blade1269

    Jesus Saved me! A Christian!

  • Joined: 10-January 04
  • Location: Arizona
  • OS: Window 8.1 iOS Linux Mint

Posted 14 October 2013 - 20:58

I have an apple AirPort Extreme and airport express.. Work great easy setup.

#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:00

Lets wait til you get home and have actual make and model number - that is a ADSL modem/router "gateway" that you linked too.. So that is an all in one device.. There would be no modem..

Are you using cable or ?? For your internet, cable modems yes quite often it can be cost effective to buy your own vs paying them $7 month for years..

As to getting a new one - does your current one not handle 50mbps? Again lets wait for your actual make and model.

Also - that one you linked too does not even have wireless? Do you want or need wireless? Are your clients B,G,N? AC?

#4 blooregard

blooregard

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-August 04

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:03

What do you need from the router? I wouldn't upgrade if I didn't have a powerful reason for that, you might not notice any difference...

 

If your ports are Fast Ethernet (like in the router you posted), a possible reason to upgrade is having Gigabit Ethernet, but only if you need them (faster INTERNAL network speeds). Another reason could be upgrading to a faster Wi-Fi technology (again, probably only useful for faster internal transfers).

 

From some ISP forums I've read that different modem/router vendors perform differently in DSL synchronization speeds. Not a lot, but it may be different. What kind of connection do you have? I am not aware of 50Mbps DSL so I am assuming cable...



#5 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:05

Hello,
 

I currently have the internet package of 25mbps, and just upgraded it to 50mbps. I was wondering if I should upgrade my router since it is probably 4 years or so old.
 
It looks like this version:
http://www.netgear.c...DG834.aspx#four
 
I'm currently not at home right now to check which correct version it is.
 
Also, should I buy my own modem and not use the companies?

Is this your only router in your home?

Personal opinion, I think if you have cash on hand, you should. A 10/100 router is kind of old and HD content could be capped by it from PC to PC. Also no wireless?

Ask remixedcat; He'll tell you "AMPED WIRELESS111!!!!!!"

Me personally, get any router with DD-WRT.

Id use your ISP's modem (which is also a router), put it in bridge mode and let YOUR router handle everything.

Anyways thats me: Listen to BudMan :p

#6 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:08

Lets wait til you get home and have actual make and model number - that is a ADSL modem/router "gateway" that you linked too.. So that is an all in one device.. There would be no modem..

Are you using cable or ?? For your internet, cable modems yes quite often it can be cost effective to buy your own vs paying them $7 month for years..

As to getting a new one - does your current one not handle 50mbps? Again lets wait for your actual make and model.

Also - that one you linked too does not even have wireless? Do you want or need wireless? Are your clients B,G,N? AC?

+1 ..

 

Give us a little more info and we'll hopefully direct you in the right direction.



#7 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:12

Oops, that is the wrong router. It looks just like that one but wireless. I'm looking on the site and they don't sell it anymore.

 

I just want to make sure I am getting faster speeds. I mean, I pay for 25mbps right now and get like 1.5mbps if that. I can download 300mb in like 15-20 minutes via torrents.

 

I also updated my post, it is this router:

http://support.netge...roduct/WGR614v9



#8 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:25

Hello
 

Oops, that is the wrong router. It looks just like that one but wireless. I'm looking on the site and they don't sell it anymore.
 
I just want to make sure I am getting faster speeds. I mean, I pay for 25mbps right now and get like 1.5mbps if that. I can download 300mb in like 15-20 minutes via torrents.
 
I also updated my post, it is this router:
http://support.netge...roduct/WGR614v9

Unless your router is really old old, it wont do any difference. Have you called up your ISP complaining about that?
 
And like someone mentioned: ADSL, cable or....?

#9 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:33

It's cable, and no I haven't. Am I really suppose to get 25mbps? I mean I can play 2 xbox's and download the whole time without noticing any lag.



#10 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:36

Hello,

UIt's cable, and no I haven't. Am I really suppose to get 25mbps? I mean I can play 2 xbox's and download the whole time without noticing any lag.

Im not sure which is better for getting the speed you are paying for but I have ADSL, and I get always my 3mbps (I believe its that)

#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:41

Ok lets wait til your home and have a make and model of your "modem" since that 614 is just a router and only G wireless.

Also are you talking bits or Bytes.. b is bits, B is Bytes - huge difference. I can not believe your downloading a 300mbit file, not even a normal mp3 file would be that small. So have to assume Bytes there.. But 1.5mbps would work out to about 26 minutes for a 300MByte file so maybe your talking mbps on your connection Not quite sure.

Also keep in mind that p2p has a lot of variables that can effect speed other than what your ISP is suppose to give you. Also are you trying to do torrents over wireless or wired? What does say a wired connection to your router show when you go to speednet, without anything else being used on your network to the internet. Turn off any p2p clients, etc..

Now 25Mbps from your isp should max out about 3.xMBps -- which is at the very very high end of what is possible with G wireless.. But maybe you have a ###### wireless connection? Lots of things can effect wireless speeds. But I would not judge your isp or wireless performance with p2p.. It is not a very friendly wireless protocol for starters. I would never suggest doing p2p over wireless if that is what your doing..

But if your going to want to max out a 50Mbps connection over wireless your going to need to N at least.. Do your wireless clients have N cards?

#12 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:49

I don't run any devices to my wireless router, my iMac, xbox, tablets are all on wireless. My iMac is in the same room as my router.

 

I don't know if my 2009 iMac or my roommate's 2011 MacBook supports N routers?



#13 dragon2611

dragon2611

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 04
  • Location: Somewhere in the UK

Posted 14 October 2013 - 21:50

From some ISP forums I've read that different modem/router vendors perform differently in DSL synchronization speeds. Not a lot, but it may be different. What kind of connection do you have? I am not aware of 50Mbps DSL so I am assuming cable...

 

VDSL2 can run at 50Mbit/s and above providing the loop length is short.

 

BT in the UK are using it for their FTTC (Fibre to the cabnet) deployment.



#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 93
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 14 October 2013 - 22:13

So you don't have anything wired to the router? And your running p2p client over wireless, and you wonder why the speed is not showing you what your ISP is providing you?

Wireless is SHARED medium -- only 1 actual device can be talking at any one time.. P2P is chatty as all get out!! Taking up bandwidth sending you queries for stuff, when you could be downloading, etc. Its not really good idea to do it over wireless - especially if any other wireless clients would like to use the network.

Even when you finish a download and are not even seeding -- you do understand that members of the swarm will still be trying to talk to your IP.. Now if you have a forward up to your router to your IP, which is normal setup for doing p2p those packets are going to be sent over the wireless -- using up bandwidth that you might be wanting to use to browse neowin at the time, etc.

Are you using UPnP and turning off your p2p client, and letting the router turn off the forward? If not for weeks after you have been a member of a swarm you can see inbound unsolicited traffic to your IP.. which in turn would be forwarded to your IP at your router and go over your wireless network.

I would really suggest you run p2p on WIRED connection!! And I would really suggest if your going to bump up to 50Mbps connection that you move to N.. Since G can not do 50MBps ever -- at most 1 client do like 21 to 23Mbps tops in real world speed. If your going to run p2p over wireless, go dual band and run your p2p over one of the bands while all the other clients use the other.

#15 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 14 October 2013 - 22:18

So you don't have anything wired to the router? And your running p2p client over wireless, and you wonder why the speed is not showing you what your ISP is providing you?

Wireless is SHARED medium -- only 1 actual device can be talking at any one time.. P2P is chatty as all get out!! Taking up bandwidth sending you queries for stuff, when you could be downloading, etc. Its not really good idea to do it over wireless - especially if any other wireless clients would like to use the network.

Even when you finish a download and are not even seeding -- you do understand that members of the swarm will still be trying to talk to your IP.. Now if you have a forward up to your router to your IP, which is normal setup for doing p2p those packets are going to be sent over the wireless -- using up bandwidth that you might be wanting to use to browse neowin at the time, etc.

Are you using UPnP and turning off your p2p client, and letting the router turn off the forward? If not for weeks after you have been a member of a swarm you can see inbound unsolicited traffic to your IP.. which in turn would be forwarded to your IP at your router and go over your wireless network.

I would really suggest you run p2p on WIRED connection!! And I would really suggest if your going to bump up to 50Mbps connection that you move to N.. Since G can not do 50MBps ever -- at most 1 client do like 21 to 23Mbps tops in real world speed. If your going to run p2p over wireless, go dual band and run your p2p over one of the bands while all the other clients use the other.

 

I'm definitely not knowledgable in this field of technology, lol. I open up uTorrent, grab what I need and close it. I don't forward anything nor know how to. So, upgrade to a N router and plug in my iMac since that's what I download off of? Now will my other wireless devices notice any speed difference?

 

Can you recommend a good N router? Also, if I could plug in like a USB hub so support my external HDD's that would be awesome to do, so I could have like a personal cloud.