Jump to content



Photo

Reinstall Windows 7 on a HP 620 notebook; 32 or 64 bit?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 17 October 2013 - 05:01

My mom's friend has a HP620 and Windows 7 needs to be reinstalled.

It has a T4500 Intel processor, 2 GB RAM etc.

 

Although the RAM can be upgraded to 8 GB, I think she will stick to the current 2 GB.

A 64 bit was installed according to her (but that I'm not sure of....)

 

Does 32 or 64 bit WIndows 7 Home Premium runs smoother/better on it?




#2 ShockD

ShockD

    Antagonist

  • Joined: 15-October 13
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 17 October 2013 - 05:56

With those specifications I don't think there will be some significant difference in the performance.

 

It's up to you which one you'll install.



#3 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 17 October 2013 - 06:19

I can bring it to 4GB with some memory I have left (I just found out), so I guess 64 bit will fit better...



#4 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:05

Stick with Window 7 32bit if you don't upgrade the memory first, as 64bit OS's use more memory... Only until you have at least 4GB is it worth installing Windows 7 64bit.



#5 jamieakers

jamieakers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-January 10
  • Location: London, England
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: Lumia 625

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:04

Stick with Window 7 32bit if you don't upgrade the memory first, as 64bit OS's use more memory... Only until you have at least 4GB is it worth installing Windows 7 64bit.

 

Got a source for that bit on 64 bit os's using more memory?  



#6 Buzz99

Buzz99

    Formerly Buzz98...

  • Joined: 08-May 02

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:13

He means that a 64bits system will use the whole memory instead of a 32 bits system that will use only about 3.5 Gb out of 4 Gb.



#7 dafin0

dafin0

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Location: Australia

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:13

Got a source for that bit on 64 bit os's using more memory?  

personnel experience, though i have not checked with windows 8
with windows 7 it used about 200MB more memory, no source of this but if you really wanted to check your self you could set up two virtual machines and compare them



#8 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:22

Go with 64Bit because you might upgrade the ram in the future and would have to do a reinstall again.

Least this way you're preparing for it.



#9 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:32

64bit for sure, sounds like you may have access to get 4GB for it, and even if you don't, I'd recommend to them that they buy an upgrade themselves.

but with 64Bit your covered either way if you upgrade it now or down the line.



#10 dafox

dafox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-October 04

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:35

64 bit is your friend  (Y)



#11 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:44

Personally,

I don't see a lick of difference between 32 bit and 64 bit except that 64 bit OS's take longer to scan with an AV or malware tool and defrag.

 

Yes,

I know a 64bit OS will be able to utilize more memory than a 32bit OS, but depending on what the mom's friend is doing, what is going to require that memory?

 

A 32bit Windows 7 runs just fine with 2-3GB memory! As with ANY OS, it all depends on what kind of crap you have automatically starting up and running in the background, as to how fast it's going to continue to run!



#12 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 17 October 2013 - 11:57

It is nothing to do with the OS... it's to do with programs. You see 64bit programs use twice the memory because the require more processing lanes than 32bit programs. Also to run 32bit programs on 64bit Windows requires more memory because windows, uses a system called Wow64 to emulate 32bit programs so they run can in a 64bit OS. Personally I would upgrade the memory of the PC to at least 4Gb before installing a 64bit OS.



#13 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 17 October 2013 - 11:59

It now has 4GB memory & Windows 7 64-bit ;)

Thx for the advice!



#14 Star-Pirate

Star-Pirate

    Privateer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 13
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 17 October 2013 - 12:02

http://en.wikipedia....4-bit_computing Complete guide to a 64bit OS...