Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#16 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 October 2013 - 14:54

Hello,

800mhz on battery / 1ghz plugged in (early intel's idea of power management)

https://en.wikipedia.../wiki/SpeedStep
https://en.wikipedia...tel_Turbo_Boost


#17 webeagle12

webeagle12

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-May 04

Posted 30 October 2013 - 15:02

Hello,
Technically by Windows system requirements, you cannot run Chrome on that computer.....

https://support.goog...me/answer/95411

 What are you, Chrome Police?  :blushing:  :p



#18 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 30 October 2013 - 15:45

Hello,

What are you, Chrome Police?  :blushing:  :p

I was just pointing out that a conclusion cannot be set on why his experience might be faster/slower if he doesnt meet sys req...

#19 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Elementary OS
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 30 October 2013 - 15:50

Chrome takes up a good bit of memory on OSX as well.. 

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 10.48.18 AM.png



#20 DPyro

DPyro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-December 05
  • Location: Ontario,Canada

Posted 30 October 2013 - 15:54

Don't laugh, used to run this on a really old system (think it only had 128MB) just to keep it super lightweight.. only 3MB.  (Extra bonus, no adblocker needed.)

 

Well that's one way to pretend you're doing work.



#21 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 30 October 2013 - 17:00

Chrome must have done something, because previous versions would rape the crap out of your ram just by opening up the browser. Glad to see they now have the mem usage under control.



#22 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 30 October 2013 - 17:06

I've got Gmail, Yahoo Fantasy Football, Google Play Music, 2 Neowin tabs, a Google Docs, and the memory about page open and I'm using 1 GB of RAM. :laugh:

 

That's 22 chrome.exe processes. I have a number of extensions I use too which I assume are taking a few of those.