Jump to content



Photo

Xbox One Users Reporting Hardware Problems

microsoft console game problem hardware crash xbox one

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 22 November 2013 - 20:30

Just like I figured, both consoles having issues out the gate.  Testing in a lab is one thing, releasing millions of consoles for public consumption is another.  I'll wait 6 months or so, maybe wait for the fist hardware revision, and then pick up my new console.
 

With today’s launch of Xbox One, some owners are discovering various problems with their next-gen console.
 
An IGN reader's system is in an endless cycle of crashing and rebooting. Another has issues with his headset outputting nothing but static. Others have seen the "E100" notification, indicating a total hardware failure caused by an update error. The Xbox One troubleshooting page notes that this error requires you submit your Xbox One for repair.
 
You can do so via the Xbox Online Service Center.
 
Other new Xbox One owners have reported numerous issues to the Xbox support message board, including concerning issues with disc drives, unusual sounds coming from the machine, more spontaneous system shutdowns, missing pixels, and blank or frozen screens. Others can't get their systems to start in the first place.
 
In the video below, you can see the Xbox One making a horrifying grinding noise as the owner inserts a disc.
 
Of course, these are anecdotal instances of hardware malfunction rather than a representation of a larger, Red Ring of Death-level problem. That said, we've contacted Microsoft about solutions to these problems and any others. In the meantime, the IGN Xbox One Problems wiki page may have explanations for problems you may encounter.
 
If you're having any problems of your own, be sure to share them in the comments below, or contact IGN directly.
 
Mitch Dyer is an associate editor at IGN. He's currently reading Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut. Talk to him on Twitter at @MitchyD.
 



#2 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 00:15

No one should be shocked. MS just needs to make sure they take care of those affected as quickly as possible.

So far, I'm two for two with next gen consoles. Neither my ps4 or X1 have had a single technical issue yet.

#3 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 23 November 2013 - 00:21

this is due to natural issues associated with manufacturing. The rush to meet deadlines and the desire for profits. 



#4 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 23 November 2013 - 00:30

The grinding sound in the video sounds like perhaps a part wasn't properly installed.



#5 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 23 November 2013 - 00:38

I think there's a problem with my Xbox One. It makes no sound at all.



#6 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:00

Anyone got a problem where the One will output SD signal only thru HDMI? My friend can't get his xbox one to output in HD. His TV is fairly new i think it's a 3yo Sharp Aquos. His 360 is working perfectly with the TV.



#7 Wapoz

Wapoz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 13

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:02

So far XB1 issues seem rather few.  With the PS4 issues, I saw them cropping up like wild fire across several sites I normally visit, starting a couple of days before the official launch with those who received units early.  I have yet to see anyone complain on anywhere near that same level about XB1 issues.  It does seem like some sites *cough* kotaku *cough* are trying their damndest to whip it up into a frenzy, but so far it's only a few sites bouncing the same few youtube videos and handful of anecdotal evidence.



#8 Showan

Showan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 12
  • Location: Amurrika
  • OS: W7, W8
  • Phone: Lumia 521

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:06

Anyone got a problem where the One will output SD signal only thru HDMI? My friend can't get his xbox one to output in HD. His TV is fairly new i think it's a 3yo Sharp Aquos. His 360 is working perfectly with the TV.


Odd considering the One is HD only... No SD at all on the system...

#9 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:16

Anyone got a problem where the One will output SD signal only thru HDMI? My friend can't get his xbox one to output in HD. His TV is fairly new i think it's a 3yo Sharp Aquos. His 360 is working perfectly with the TV.


How is that even possible? There shouldn't be any SD support.

Did he go into the display settings and make sure it was set to use hdmi and set to 1080p?

#10 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 23 November 2013 - 01:23

So far XB1 issues seem rather few.  With the PS4 issues, I saw them cropping up like wild fire across several sites I normally visit.

 

Not to mention, Xbox One was released today world wide, while PS4 was only NA. We'll see if it continues next week for the PS.



#11 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 23 November 2013 - 02:00

How is that even possible? There shouldn't be any SD support.

Did he go into the display settings and make sure it was set to use hdmi and set to 1080p?

He has set the TV connection to HDMI (auto-detect) but the only resolution displayed in the setting under TV resolution is 640x480. The output is so ugly this is definately SD. It's strange. HDCP problem ???



#12 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 02:02

He has set the TV connection to HDMI (auto-detect) but the only resolution displayed in the setting under TV resolution is 640x480. The output is so ugly this is definately SD. It's strange. HDCP problem ???


Wow, I'm not sure how that is possible, but yeah, maybe its an hdcp issue. Is he using the included hdmi cable? Maybe try another cable, or hook it up to another tv if possible.

Also, maybe try another hdmi port on the tv if it has one.

#13 OP Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 23 November 2013 - 02:32

Hopefully both companies get their hiccups taken care of soon so we can all start enjoying great content.  I realize that things like this are kind of inevitable with brand new products, but it would suck to be one of those people who stood in line for hours, pre-ordered the machine, took it home, and when you put in the game you've been wanting to play it responds with a horrible grinding sound and you've got to send the console back for repairs, or exchange it for a new one.



#14 GotBored

GotBored

    Brain Trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-June 13
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 04 January 2014 - 04:40

Odd considering the One is HD only... No SD at all on the system...


I think he ment 720p HD not full 1080p HD. This is normal most games on X1 are 720p HD and not 1080p HD like the PS4.

#15 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 04 January 2014 - 06:48

I think he ment 720p HD not full 1080p HD. This is normal most games on X1 are 720p HD and not 1080p HD like the PS4.


No he meant SD. He said it clearly.

Also, the point was about console output not being correct. The X1 will output at 1080p regardless of the game. Just as the ps4 will do the same even on games that aren't 1080p native, such as BF4.