Jump to content



Photo

XB1: Ejecting disc? Active Downloads?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 23 November 2013 - 06:39

How do I eject a disc and where can I find the equivalent of Xbox 360's "Active Downloads", I am assuming AC4 is stuck at 0% install because my Xbox is downloading the 401MB patch first?




#2 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 06:48

There does not seem to be an active downloads section. Instead, I think if you go to the 'my games and apps' tile, you can see progress bars for downloads or installing a patch. I can't test it to verify right now though.

As far as eject, I cant test that either :laugh: I don't have a disc based game yet and I don't have a movie handy.

Try moving the selection over to the disc drive tile on the dash and hit the 'menu' button on your controller. see if it pops up an option to eject.

#3 OP Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 23 November 2013 - 06:55

There does not seem to be an active downloads section. Instead, I think if you go to the 'my games and apps' tile, you can see progress bars for downloads or installing a patch. I can't test it to verify right now though.

As far as eject, I cant test that either :laugh: I don't have a disc based game yet and I don't have a movie handy.

Try moving the selection over to the disc drive tile on the dash and hit the 'menu' button on your controller. see if it pops up an option to eject.

Wow I really dislike lacking an active downloads section... If the patch is downloading (I assume and hope so) then the progress isn't incorporated into the 'installing' tile at the bottom of the screen. When hitting menu on the disc tile no eject pops up on the screen as an option.. though as a I type the 'installing' progress bar just moved to 1%, I will update with total time of installation and decide if that includes downloading of the patch, considering most games reportedly only took 8-12min. to install without patches. I am on a semi slow connection, so if it takes a while we can assume the disc tile includes patch downloads and physical disc installation.

 

Also, do you know if there is a way to setup (or disable) the console's timer of turning off after inactivity, if there is one? This could go over night lol



#4 spudtrooper

spudtrooper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 920

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:00

I believe it can download in sleep mode, ill have to verify that here soon though, don't think you need to leave it fully on



#5 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:01

Wow I really dislike lacking an active downloads section... If the patch is downloading (I assume and hope so) then the progress isn't incorporated into the 'installing' tile at the bottom of the screen. When hitting menu on the disc tile no eject pops up on the screen as an option.. though as a I type the 'installing' progress bar just moved to 1%, I will update with total time of installation and decide if that includes downloading of the patch, considering most games reportedly only took 8-12min. to install without patches. I am on a semi slow connection, so if it takes a while we can assume the disc tile includes patch downloads and physical disc installation.
 
Also, do you know if there is a way to setup (or disable) the console's timer of turning off after inactivity, if there is one? This could go over night lol


Yeah, I'm trying to figure that out as well. If you can watch that bar and tell us if it seems to be showing the progress of downloading and installing in one step, then that's good to know. I think that ultimately they should add an active downloads tile or somehow incorporate that into the notifications tile that sits in the top left corner of the screen next to your user icon.


You can indeed change the shut off timer, I did that first thing. Go to the settings tile on the dash and then click on the 'power' tile. The controls are in there.

#6 OP Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:18

Confirmed, at least in my opinion, that the download of the initial patch (or probably any patch) is included in the "installation" progress bar on the disc tile, as it went from 1% for roughly 10 min. to 10% instantly, and moments later to "ready to play". Further clarification, I've begun the single player campaign and no further patching or installation has been asked of me, so I believe the disc tile includes disc install + patches. 

 

I still agree with the eventual addition of an 'Active Downloads' section, whether it be a tile, access via notifcations, or whatever, quick access to the progress.

 

So I am a noob, playing now, but I am curious, I still need the disc, correct? I cannot eject (haven't even checked if available with full install, too much excitement playing), I have to keep the disc in during play for disc-based games?

 

By the way this controller is amazing.



#7 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:30

Yeah, the disc is still required to be in the tray, but it won't be spinning now that its installed.

+1 for the controller. My time with KI has been much better thanks especially to that new d-pad.

#8 OP Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:31

Anyone know how we get the Day 1 achievement?



#9 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:39

is the day one patch already available as disc, yet?



#10 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:42

Anyone know how we get the Day 1 achievement?


There is a card that came in the box with the code for it. You can redeem it in the store section under browse games and then use a code.

Alternatively, you can simply say 'Xbox... use a code' and show the card. That works really fast vs typing in a long code.

#11 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:43

is the day one patch already available as disc, yet?


Not on a disc, but MS will walk you through putting the files on a flash drive and update with that. At least that's what I have seen confirmed. Maybe they can send you a disc now.

#12 OP Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 23 November 2013 - 08:13

I was under the impression Achievements for cross-gen (360 & One) games would still add to Gamerscore, yet xbox.com & my Windows Phone disagree lol, any ideas?



#13 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 23 November 2013 - 08:28

I was under the impression Achievements for cross-gen (360 & One) games would still add to Gamerscore, yet xbox.com & my Windows Phone disagree lol, any ideas?


what do you mean? If your talking about earning new achievements on your 360, then yes, they should be added to your total Gamerscore that works across the 360, X1, and WP. I've seen it happen myself. Its possible there is some delay in the number updating properly.

#14 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    What the what

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.9.x iOS 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 23 November 2013 - 08:33

I was under the impression Achievements for cross-gen (360 & One) games would still add to Gamerscore, yet xbox.com & my Windows Phone disagree lol, any ideas?

xbox onegamer score appears but not the achievements (you don't even appear online). One thing i wish they'd change is messages, having no audio messages sucks

#15 Andrew G.

Andrew G.

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 23 November 2013 - 10:17

xbox onegamer score appears but not the achievements (you don't even appear online). One thing i wish they'd change is messages, having no audio messages sucks

 

Xbox One owners do appear online to X360 owners. If you view their achievements they are grouped under "Xbox One Achievements" rather than separated by game title.

 

The Day One achievement is only viewable from the Xbox One dash. You cannot see it via Xbox.com etc





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!