Jump to content



Photo

Marvell 91xx Config ATA Device - problem in device manager

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 21 December 2013 - 13:10

This hasn't always been there & i've not installed any new hardware.

 

See the attachment for the problem.

 

What is this & how do you put it right? I did a bit of googling & it says something about the motherboard CD, but i installed those drivers??

 

Marvell.jpg



Best Answer +Phouchg , 21 December 2013 - 13:52

Assumed you have this controller somewhere on the motherboard itself, but there's none of that sort.

You will need to install drivers for this expansion card then.

Go to the full post



#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Krikkit
  • OS: VTOS 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 21 December 2013 - 13:16

ATA device is a giveaway - it's a storage controller. What motherboard (make and model) do you have there?



#3 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Starry

  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Elsewhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 21 December 2013 - 13:25

This hasn't always been there & i've not installed any new hardware.

 

See the attachment for the problem.

 

What is this & how do you put it right? I did a bit of googling & it says something about the motherboard CD, but i installed those drivers??

 

attachicon.gifMarvell.jpg

The Marvell driver installs two entries in the Device Manager....looks like the second one got messed up somehow.  While the driver from your motherboard support site would most likely fix it, there's a good chance it's outdated.  I recommend the 1.2.0.1039 here http://station-drive...vers/47-marvell (ignore the MSU)



#4 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 21 December 2013 - 13:34

MOBO: Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3

 

I have 2 different SSD drives in there & 2 HDDs.

 

I ran out of SATA ports so had to get one of those cards to allow another connection. I have my blu ray DVD drive attached to this.



#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Krikkit
  • OS: VTOS 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 21 December 2013 - 13:52   Best Answer

Assumed you have this controller somewhere on the motherboard itself, but there's none of that sort.

You will need to install drivers for this expansion card then.



#6 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 21 December 2013 - 14:04

firstly, right click on it and select update driver, see what happens.  if you have no joy, a lot of the times you can resolve issues like this by right clicking on it, uninstalling, then reboot.  best outcome is windows finding the appropriate driver when it rescans your hardware, and the worst is you'll be in the same position.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!