Jump to content



Photo

New Linksys Routers are doing it old skool

linksys belkin wrt1900ac router esata openwrt

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 January 2014 - 15:52

Yes i spelled skool wrong there :p

Dunno if i'm loving them or not but seems they are trying to relive the glory days of Linksys home routers. Belkin bought the outfit from Cisco recently and now seem to think they can tug at some old hearts regarding the nostalgic look.

Obviously totally different beast on the inside.
 

The 2.4GHz and 5GHz simultaneous dual-band WRT1900AC is powered by a dual-core 1.2 GHz processor and 256MB of DDR3 RAM. To maximize its range it's got four removable and upgradeable antennas instead of the more common three, as well as USB 2, USB 3, and eSata ports for sharing access to external storage devices.


More importantly, though, is the fact that Linksys is working with the OpenWRT community to ensure that open source firmware is available for the $300 WRT1900AC as soon as it's available sometime this spring.


emphasis added

ku-xlarge.jpg
ku-xlarge (1).jpg

Source: http://gizmodo.com/l...eles-1493940643


#2 +scumdogmillionaire

scumdogmillionaire

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 8.1 RT
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:04

Funny and if Linksys wasn't really annoying me lately i'd consider it. But i'm in the market to replace my EA6500 due to its inability to allow you to log on using Internet Explorer 11. I HATE developers that do checks like that.



#3 +AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:07

Co-designed by Lamborghini?



#4 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:16

Funny and if Linksys wasn't really annoying me lately i'd consider it. But i'm in the market to replace my EA6500 due to its inability to allow you to log on using Internet Explorer 11. I HATE developers that do checks like that.


I had a recent Linksys and returned it - it was awful. I don't know what direction they were taking with that "cloud software" crap - but it's the most appalling interface I'd ever seen.

#5 +scumdogmillionaire

scumdogmillionaire

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 8.1 RT
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:28

I had a recent Linksys and returned it - it was awful. I don't know what direction they were taking with that "cloud software" crap - but it's the most appalling interface I'd ever seen.

 

Yeah, I skip the cloud piece. Don't want any part of that. But I agree, the local UI is still pretty bad, too.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:33

Yeah that does tug at the old heart strings ;) I still have a wrt54GL running as my G AP so just need to look on top my desk if feel nostalgic - $300 is a bit much for something I would just use as an AP anyway..

But I do like the style ;)

#7 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:42

I had a recent Linksys and returned it - it was awful. I don't know what direction they were taking with that "cloud software" crap - but it's the most appalling interface I'd ever seen.

I was using an E1500 (I think?) which was giving me a little trouble.  Then I installed Tomato on it and it's been a lot better.  Still looking around, though.



#8 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 06 January 2014 - 16:49

Funny and if Linksys wasn't really annoying me lately i'd consider it. But i'm in the market to replace my EA6500 due to its inability to allow you to log on using Internet Explorer 11. I HATE developers that do checks like that.

 

Really? :(

 

I was planning on upgrading my old N router to an EA6400 soon. All my systems have IE11. Does changingthe browser mode to IE10 work?



#9 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 06 January 2014 - 17:02

Really? :(

 

I was planning on upgrading my old N router to an EA6400 soon. All my systems have IE11. Does changingthe browser mode to IE10 work?

I didn't know that - I upgraded from WNR-3500v1 to WNDR-3700v4 for price/capability reasons - the fact that I can administer it with any router (or from any OS) is a bonus.



#10 +scumdogmillionaire

scumdogmillionaire

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 8.1 RT
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 06 January 2014 - 17:05

Really? :(

 

I was planning on upgrading my old N router to an EA6400 soon. All my systems have IE11. Does changingthe browser mode to IE10 work?

 

No. Compatibility mode doesn't solve it unfortunately.



#11 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows Embedded Standard 8 & Server 2012/08 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 06 January 2014 - 17:07

AC is nice but 300$ will buy you an enterprise grade fully managed cisco 802.11N router on ebay.

No. Compatibility mode doesn't solve it unfortunately.

Try changing the IE user agent using gpedit.msc, google it

#12 ensiform

ensiform

    "I AM SUCH A BA!"

  • Joined: 14-July 06

Posted 06 January 2014 - 17:08

Still love my WRT54GL with shibby's variant of Tomato with Mini-IPv6.



#13 D. S.

D. S.

    Hate is the new Love

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Location: Portugal
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nokia 113

Posted 06 January 2014 - 20:55

My WRT54GL is still going strong. Faster wireless would be nice but I can't seem to find a suitable (not terribly expensive) upgrade.



#14 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 06 January 2014 - 21:02

300$? woow... for that value i can get an small business wireless router; forget eSata and USB3 (because most don't need it) and the price can go down a lot.

WRT54GL was a great router because of the great 3rd party firmware that could make the router go well beyond; that and it was cheap.



#15 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 January 2014 - 21:06

My WRT54GL is still going strong. Faster wireless would be nice but I can't seem to find a suitable (not terribly expensive) upgrade.

A while back I picked this up

http://www.amazon.co..._pr_product_top

I got it for $42 after a $10 rebate which I could not pass up - the native firmware was horrendous!!! But dd-wrt went on it very quick and easy and its been quite stable and for $42 quite a bargain. $55 not all that bad - but I see your not in the US, so not sure what it might cost where your at.

I still use my wrt54gl for G (son's older laptop) - but all other devices in the house support N, some even 5ghz so works out fine for my needs. Been happy with the performance (with dd-wrt, not native firmware). Also I just use it as wireless AP - its is not my edge device.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!