Jump to content



Photo

Redoing my network...


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#31 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 February 2014 - 15:15

Hello,

My family members don't complain about it, but I have run this setup for almost the last 10 years so they are just used to it to some degree.
 
I have public shares I use for that sort of stuff. This isn't a major problem for me. Though I increasingly do have to make sure the stuff is in the public share if it needs access by those devices. My family members don't get that part as well.

I understand; I dont have that problem as public shares to TVs (for example) I am the only one that currently uses it.


#32 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 19 February 2014 - 16:20

Not sure I recommended the 105E, you have to use a gui client to configure it - I use the gs108T, which uses a web interface to configure it.  But sure its supports vlans and should make a much better switch than just a dumb one.

 

What script are you going to run to move the wire to the wan interface of your magic gateway, and then enable its dhcp server and then tell all your clients to renew their lease and get the new info?

 

If you want to show your VM infrastructure connection to your physical network you should show your vswitches, etc.

 

"I can be sure all data on all computers is properly backed up in my nightly backup jobs."

This does not require a AD domain to accomplish - this just requires common storage, so you can back it up.  Same goes for your syncing of data - this can be done very simply without the use of AD and nor cloud storage.

 

Can features of AD be leveraged in the home setup - sure.  But its not cost effective for starters, the typical home user has no access to Window server products, or they just have money to burn to purchase them - or they are getting them on the down low.  I find it hard to believe that OP even has legal use of AD to use in his "production" network - ie his family users, etc.  Now you could say he is "testing"  But we all know this not really the case.  If he want to test and learn, sure grab a trial copy fire up some VMs and go to town.  But once he brings in his family members day to day use machines that is no longer the case.

 

As to your 3rd nic in your pic - that is ilo, no you can not leverage that as a normal nic.  If you want to add more nics then you need to buy some and put them in the slots you have their on the bottom right of your pic.



#33 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 19 February 2014 - 16:28

Not sure I recommended the 105E, you have to use a gui client to configure it - I use the gs108T, which uses a web interface to configure it.  But sure its supports vlans and should make a much better switch than just a dumb one.

 

What script are you going to run to move the wire to the wan interface of your magic gateway, and then enable its dhcp server and then tell all your clients to renew their lease and get the new info?

 

If you want to show your VM infrastructure connection to your physical network you should show your vswitches, etc.

 

"I can be sure all data on all computers is properly backed up in my nightly backup jobs."

This does not require a AD domain to accomplish - this just requires common storage, so you can back it up.  Same goes for your syncing of data - this can be done very simply without the use of AD and nor cloud storage.

 

Can features of AD be leveraged in the home setup - sure.  But its not cost effective for starters, the typical home user has no access to Window server products, or they just have money to burn to purchase them - or they are getting them on the down low.  I find it hard to believe that OP even has legal use of AD to use in his "production" network - ie his family users, etc.  Now you could say he is "testing"  But we all know this not really the case.  If he want to test and learn, sure grab a trial copy fire up some VMs and go to town.  But once he brings in his family members day to day use machines that is no longer the case.

 

As to your 3rd nic in your pic - that is ilo, no you can not leverage that as a normal nic.  If you want to add more nics then you need to buy some and put them in the slots you have their on the bottom right of your pic.

Yeah licensing can be an issue. For me, I am licensed to use it in my scenario.

 

It does require common storage, but it would be trickier outside of an AD setup. I would need to modify each machine to push the common folders off to the common storage. My current setup does this automatically via GPO as soon as the user logs in.



#34 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 February 2014 - 16:52

Hello,

Not sure I recommended the 105E

My understanding is the E is a somewhat smart switch with no interface to manage it built in, need to use their tool to setup stuff.

You missed one feature it has that can come in real handy

Port mirroring

This allows you to sniff traffic if need be - for example you can mirror the port connected to your router - and via something connected to that mirror you can view all the traffic in and out of your network with a protocol analyzer - say wireshark, or use something like ntop to monitor and report on types of traffic flowing in and out of your network.

For the small difference in price - yes I would go with that E model, even if you don't have any current plans of using those features. What about next week ;)

About time I catch you on something :p

And next week, turned into the next four months :laugh:

Not sure I recommended the 105E, you have to use a gui client to configure it - I use the gs108T, which uses a web interface to configure it.  But sure its supports vlans and should make a much better switch than just a dumb one.
 
What script are you going to run to move the wire to the wan interface of your magic gateway, and then enable its dhcp server and then tell all your clients to renew their lease and get the new info?
 
If you want to show your VM infrastructure connection to your physical network you should show your vswitches, etc.
 
"I can be sure all data on all computers is properly backed up in my nightly backup jobs."
This does not require a AD domain to accomplish - this just requires common storage, so you can back it up.  Same goes for your syncing of data - this can be done very simply without the use of AD and nor cloud storage.
 
Can features of AD be leveraged in the home setup - sure.  But its not cost effective for starters, the typical home user has no access to Window server products, or they just have money to burn to purchase them - or they are getting them on the down low.  I find it hard to believe that OP even has legal use of AD to use in his "production" network - ie his family users, etc.  Now you could say he is "testing"  But we all know this not really the case.  If he want to test and learn, sure grab a trial copy fire up some VMs and go to town.  But once he brings in his family members day to day use machines that is no longer the case.
 
As to your 3rd nic in your pic - that is ilo, no you can not leverage that as a normal nic.  If you want to add more nics then you need to buy some and put them in the slots you have their on the bottom right of your pic.

Yeah, its a simple little GUI client. Really the only downside to it is having to install it. But besides that, its OK :)

Some off the top of my head pseudocode:

(This would run on the DD-WRT box)

Ping pfSense's WAN interface
If it replies
check if there is some kind of internet connectivity
if there is
revert any changes made if there wasnt (remove PPPoE, kill dhcp server, etc)
end script
if there isnt internet connectivy and/or no wan interface reply
start up a PPPoE connection
once it is established, start up dhcp server

This would be a very sloppy script :p

Vswitches look intresting but I havent looked into them too much.

I thought about AD a long time ago so I got all of the PCs in my home with Professional instead of Home Premium in my house; I think the amount to pay was min.

 
 

It does require common storage, but it would be trickier outside of an AD setup. I would need to modify each machine to push the common folders off to the common storage. My current setup does this automatically via GPO as soon as the user logs in.

I plan to do the same thing put PULL everything instead of push; My desktop, documents, downloads, etc. would all be written on the server and when I log on, it would all be PULLED off and onto whatever device I logon to.