Jump to content



Photo

DisplayPort or High-Definition Multimedia Interface?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

Poll: Which?

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

Which?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 February 2014 - 18:48

Hello,

Which? DisplayPort or High-Definition Multimedia Interface?

(Ive made this thread as neutral as possible. State your reasons why you choose one over the other)


#2 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    Pax Orbis

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Heartland
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 13 February 2014 - 18:50

Thunderbolt!



#3 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 13 February 2014 - 18:52

I use HDMI because my monitor doesn't have DP, but my next monitor will.

 

DP is royalty free so it makes my kit cheaper and doesn't have any useless crap nobody uses like ethernet support and so on.

 

It can also chain for multiple monitors instead of needing them all connected to the card.

 

Dockport also looks pretty sweet for laptops.



#4 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 13 February 2014 - 18:55

For simple video signals (like you use PC monitors): DisplayPort.

 

For anything where you need more, HDMI is pretty cool. CEC and the whole digital audio system that come with HDMI are nice and work well.

 

Basically, PC to monitor: DisplayPort. Anything to TV: HDMI.



#5 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:03

Hello,

I use HDMI because my monitor doesn't have DP, but my next monitor will.
 
It's royalty free so it makes my kit cheaper and doesn't have any useless crap nobody uses like ethernet support and so on.

I think I misunderstood you: DP is royalty free, not HDMI.

And Im not sure if its a monitor issue; Its more if graphics card support it or not...

#6 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:03

Either one, use whichever you have the cable for and your devices support would be my suggestion



#7 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:08

HDMI wherever possible.
VGA And DVI (or whatever it's called) when hdmi isn't possible.

#8 rr_dRock

rr_dRock

    Resident Magical Lion v1.2

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 06
  • Location: Time Warp, Canadian Arctic
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, Windows 8 x64, Windows Server 2012
  • Phone: Galaxy SIV (CM11), iPhone 4S

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:10

Hellom
I think I misunderstood you: DP is royalty free, not HDMI.

And Im not sure if its a monitor issue; Its more if graphics card support it or not...

 

 

What's this about royalties?



#9 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:15

Hello,

What's this about royalties?

http://en.wikipedia....puter_standards
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Cost

#10 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 13 February 2014 - 19:25

For simple video signals (like you use PC monitors): DisplayPort.

 

For anything where you need more, HDMI is pretty cool. CEC and the whole digital audio system that come with HDMI are nice and work well.

 

Basically, PC to monitor: DisplayPort. Anything to TV: HDMI.

DisplayPort can do CEC and does digital audio as well.


Hello,
I think I misunderstood you: DP is royalty free, not HDMI.

That is what I meant, yes.  I reworded it.



#11 rr_dRock

rr_dRock

    Resident Magical Lion v1.2

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 06
  • Location: Time Warp, Canadian Arctic
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, Windows 8 x64, Windows Server 2012
  • Phone: Galaxy SIV (CM11), iPhone 4S

Posted 13 February 2014 - 22:05

Huh, interesting. I did not know that.

 

Thanks for sharing!



#12 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 February 2014 - 22:29

Hello,

Huh, interesting. I did not know that.
 
Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome. Everyone learns something new everyday :)

#13 Tech085

Tech085

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-July 13
  • Location: Redneck Nation
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 13 February 2014 - 23:36

I choose displayport since is newer conntector and I think anyway IMHO is a better way to connect the display don't care for hdmi that much.



#14 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 14 February 2014 - 00:16

In trying to connect my 32" 4K display I found that it would take 2 HDMI connectors to view 4K at 60Hz but only one DisplayPort connector.  I'm not sure if that's because it handles more bandwidth...



#15 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 14 February 2014 - 00:22

DisplayPort, HDMI is ok but I have no idea why you'd want to use it over DisplayPort.