Jump to content



Photo

Strange problems with PC: Freezes from time to time...


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 HeLGeN-X

HeLGeN-X

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 05
  • Location: NYC/Fukuoka

Posted 05 March 2014 - 23:06

Hey all, I found a PC on the street, a Lenovo Thinkcentre. It had the mobo, the PSU, and the CPU which was a Pentium (something) dual core. Anyway, I threw in some ram and a 1tb SATA drive, it runs really good... However, it freezes from time to time, mostly when doing something. I could watch full movies on it or play games with no problem, but it seems to freeze up when i'm doing something like doing heavy browsing or something involving the browser which is weird. I can't pinpoint the problem really, it seems more hardware specific than software to be honest. The event viewer has no errors whatsoever.

 

What do you all think the problem can be? There is one main thing which could be the problem, but I need advice before I go and buy a new one. Sometimes, the PC doesn't turn on. I believe it to be the PSU, but I could be wrong. I have to turn it on and off a few times if I don't use it constantly. Also, when I changed the voltage on the PSU, the fan spins really fast on the CPU or really quietly. I feel as if the CPU was overheating, but I doubt it because I used CPUID to check the temperature, and it was quite fine.

 

Also, I one in a blue get a ram error, the ram should be fine, ran memtest with no errors many times on my main PC, but I can't use all 4 sticks otherwise it'll beep. I know this is all quite vague, but if anyone could possibly help me out, I'd appreciate it. 

 

I'll sum up everything if you don't want to read everything:

 

*PC freezes from time to time, mostly when browsing web pages

*Sometimes doesn't turn on and the fan spins fast at first, then goes really low

*Can only use 3 sticks of ram, 4 will make the mobo beep.

 

Thanks in advance.




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 March 2014 - 23:10

CPU overheating or bad PSU.



#3 Robbie Ride

Robbie Ride

    Robbie Jardine

  • Joined: 09-January 06
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center

Posted 05 March 2014 - 23:20

Sounds like a faulty motherboard, probably the reason it was tossed. I found a system on top of a skip in January this year and it was in a bad way with dust but it actually worked so I stripped it and used the parts lol

#4 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 06 March 2014 - 00:24

There's a hardware issue if it isn't turning on consistently. The mobo could be faulty, the PSU could be faulty. More or less impossible to pint down what without swapping out something in this case.



#5 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 06 March 2014 - 01:00

Hey all, I found a PC on the street, a Lenovo Thinkcentre.

 

lol the only thing i can found on the street is junk and even for that people dig on trash cans... :/

 

anyways, seems like a hardware fault (PSU or Mainboard); does it boot into BIOS? can you see the temp and voltage? i would take whatever is working and scrap the rest of it.



#6 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 06 March 2014 - 14:17

Hello,

Hey all, I found a PC on the street, a Lenovo Thinkcentre.

Sound strange :huh:
 

lol the only thing i can found on the street is junk and even for that people dig on trash cans... :/
 
anyways, seems like a hardware fault (PSU or Mainboard); does it boot into BIOS? can you see the temp and voltage? i would take whatever is working and scrap the rest of it.

Yeah, very strange.

#7 OP HeLGeN-X

HeLGeN-X

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 05
  • Location: NYC/Fukuoka

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:42

Thanks for the info. I live in the East Village in NYC, it's a fairly rich neighborhood, and people sometimes throw out brand new things simply because like a button was stuck or something, and I end up just using something really ridiculous to fix them like a piece of tape, lighter fluid, a philips head ETC.

 

Anyway, this is one of the first times I've been stumped on fixing a PC, I usually have at least a 90% ratio of fixing desktops to say the least, but this one is giving me headaches (although don't use it much,) if used as just a server, it'd be just fine, or I'd just have to wait a minute every 20 minutes for it to end it's freeze cycle... Which ain't so bad. I'm almost tempted to use the PSU from my main one... Unless I find another PSU haha.



#8 Devmer11

Devmer11

    Microsoft Enthusiast

  • Joined: 31-May 12
  • Location: Conway AR
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:54

i would check the PSU first my thinkcentre had the same problem it would throttle heavily trying to pull power check that :) thinkcentres are a pain to troubleshoot especially the IBM ones



#9 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 09 March 2014 - 04:56

You can't fix everything. Sometimes, you get hardware that inconsistently works when failing. Intermittent faults like that are a class on their own. The mode of demise for an HP laptop I had was that the screen would turn on about 1/20th of the time.



#10 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-October 09

Posted 10 March 2014 - 02:12

You are going to have to swap something out to find that is wrong.

 

The easiest is to borrow a PSU (power supply unit) from another computer to test.



#11 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-October 09

Posted 10 March 2014 - 02:16

It likely a PSU problem.



#12 Decebalvs Rex

Decebalvs Rex

    Transylvanian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location: Romania
  • OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Home Premium SP1
  • Phone: HTC HD2 WP 7.8

Posted 10 March 2014 - 11:47

Set the BIOS settings to default and restart.

Check if all parts are correctly in place.

Sounds like a faulty mobo to me, check with other ram if you can.

My $5 placed on faulty connection between hardware components.

If not.. just my two cents here.