Jump to content



Photo

How much power can an extension cords handle?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#31 Ames

Ames

    Neowinian

  • 516 posts
  • Joined: 21-March 04
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:16

Yeah all sarcasm aside, the average house doesn't have the service for this.  Most are wired for either 60 or 100 amp service.  So forget multiple extension cords, its still too much power.  Best case you'll trip a breaker pretty quick.  Worst case (particularly if you try to avoid tripping a breaker by distributing the load over multiple circuits) major house fire.




#32 Sammyinnit

Sammyinnit

    Neowinian

  • 1,167 posts
  • Joined: 14-October 04
  • Location: England.
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: HTC EVO 3D/Google-Asus Nexus 7 2nd Gen Tablet

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:29

You could probably hire a diesel generator with enough output to run them cheaper than a commercial electrical install, depending on the amount of time you're looking to have them running.

#33 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • 3,217 posts
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:40

You might also consider that you will have power requirements for other equipment depending on what your doing in this warehouse so a separate supply and breaker board is a necessary requirement.Also not the voltage drop on any great length of cable will damage the equipment running on it too.



#34 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • 4,758 posts
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:43

No, we have 1,000 watt bulbs like this:
 
Which can be used in the warehouse or company depends on what they are using them for.


well spank my ass and call me ginger

#35 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • 1,014 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:49

depends on the gauge.

 

A normal 10AWG extension can handle 1800W safely, or around 120V at around 15A.. If you ran 15 of them (as cores) you could put 15,000W through them probably safely. You'll probably need very thick wire to do it in one go.

 

To do 15000W at 120V thats 125A and you'd need 4AWG wire.

 

http://www.powerstre...m/Wire_Size.htm



#36 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • 3,217 posts
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:51

Use some wet string



#37 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • 7,829 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 29 March 2014 - 20:58

Use some wet string

 

lmao



#38 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • 4,137 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 29 March 2014 - 21:31

Did the warehouse ever have power?  If so get the local utility to re-establish service.  If not, see about getting service to the site.  Either way contact a qualified, licensed electrical contractor and they should be able to answer your questions.



#39 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • 2,653 posts
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 29 March 2014 - 21:59

Guys, i think the OP is trolling hard because he even said and i'm quoting:

 

Haha wow, all these posts are hilarious!

 

what he's asking is dangerous and doesn't make sense, even if he wants to save money or to conceal whatever he's planning.



#40 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • 7,829 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 29 March 2014 - 22:06

Guys, i think the OP is trolling hard because he even said and i'm quoting:

 

 

what he's asking is dangerous and doesn't make sense, even if he wants to save money or to conceal whatever he's planning.

 

I don't care if he's trolling or not... All I did was to make sure he isn't doing that otherwise he will burn the place down...

 

If he did, he can NOT blame us for giving him the wrong info..

 

You can NOT know what age he is in... he could be a teen who does not know anything about electricity/wires ... something like that. His dad will be mad at him for burning the place down.



#41 Neu B

Neu B

    Neowinian

  • 281 posts
  • Joined: 16-April 11

Posted 29 March 2014 - 22:12

Hi all, I'm trying to run an extension cord to a warehouse on my property that has no power, if I wanted to power it from the house, what gauge cord would I need to run 15 1000 watt lights plus a few other things?

AAHHH! They DO exist!

 

 

LOL