Jump to content



Photo

Use Network's static IP from external location


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 metallithrax

metallithrax

    I saw you earlier, with the hairy stick....

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 24-May 04
  • Location: Wherever I am at his moment in time.
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia U (android 4.0.4)

Posted 02 April 2014 - 18:12

A worker needs to log in to our network from home(or where ever), and then do some work on one of our websites.  But he needs to be logging in to the website using the static IP address of our network and not the IP where he is located.

 

Is this possible at all?




#2 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 02 April 2014 - 18:31

You could setup VPN access to your network which he would connect to first.  Another alernative is to setup a "jump box" inside your network and open remote desktop access.  He would have to RDP into the jump box, and then from there he could connect to the website's IP.



#3 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 02 April 2014 - 20:09

there are a few ways to accomplish this, with little to no effort logmein, teamviewer, vnc, etc to be able to remote into a computer that is on your network that is turned on would work in this case. 

 

setting up a vpn, then remotting into a computer could work

 

setting up a vpn and not enabling split tunnel will allow that to work directly from his computer

 

How do you want to skin the cat is up to you.



#4 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 03 April 2014 - 11:27

VPN, easiest solution.



#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 April 2014 - 12:12

To be honest vpn is not the easiest solution, because normally your vpn clients don't get an IP on the same segment as your local network, yes it would be private can controlled by you - but normally its a different segment.  So if this webserver is locked down to say 192.168.1.0/24 can access, and your vpn clients get 192.168.2.0/24 then you also have to edit the webserver acl.  Or sure the vpn client could then remote one of the machines on the 192.168.1.0/24 network -- if local firewall allows it, normally windows firewall limits rdp access to the local segment, etc.  Now sure a vpn can be setup that gives the client same IP as the segment local network is, but this really is not the normal sort of setup when the vpn server is at the edge of the network - say the router providing the connectivity, etc.

 

This is clearly the much better long term solution to provide robust services to your users.  But setup is going to be more complicated then say teamviewer or join.me, webex, etc.  Which are simple easy ways to just run some software on a local machine - or even the server itself and let the work in that needs to do something.  If its a one off and not very common need then these sorts of remote control software would be easier and faster solutions to the problem.

 

Normally companies of decent size would already have vpn setup, so this must be a smaller setup - and the fact that the poster is even asking the question has me thinking vpn not already in their skill set, etc.  So I believe remote control software - many free solutions that can be used even for business use (join.me for example) is a 1 minute setup for even the novice computer user/admin



#6 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 03 April 2014 - 12:28

There is also a lot that can be misconfigured in a vpn setup. It isn't point click and install, like any cloud based remote control software which gets around any further configuration that would have to be done on both the firewall and the client to be able to access the vpn. as well as the testing involved to verify functionality.

Vpn in this case is like taking a sledge hammer to a finishing nail. Wrong tool for the job, but if you are real careful you may not put a hole in the wall. It will get the job done though at a high cost to an unskilled user.

#7 OP metallithrax

metallithrax

    I saw you earlier, with the hairy stick....

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 24-May 04
  • Location: Wherever I am at his moment in time.
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia U (android 4.0.4)

Posted 03 April 2014 - 14:18

Sorrys guys, I missed of a very important part of the information.  The website isn't hosted by us, and isn't on our network.  

 

I suppose basically, he needs to use our external IP address to access the website so that he gets full admin rights and can change things.  He will be doing the work totally away from our premises, and maybe at various locations so adding other IP addresses to the admin account isn't going to work.



#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 03 April 2014 - 14:24

your answer has been given.  use a remote software to remote into your network to a computer or server that is on and awaiting a remote connection, you could also setup a vpn tunnel to your office. 

 

The easiest would be to setup a remote connection using a bevy of software available, both free and not free.  The hardest and may require that of an IT engineer or a admin is to setup a vpn tunnel.  I don't know what other answer you are waiting for maybe you need a picture or a video to help you understand your needs?

 

here is how a remote software would work

 

here is how a vpn works