Jump to content



Photo

Issue with Bind9 forwarding


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 13 April 2014 - 09:40

Hi All,

I have an odd problem with Bind - which is driving me a little insane, and I cannot for the life of me find the cause.

I have bind setup on a box in my network to handle internal DNS. This is setup as a forwarder to a couple of other servers. All works fine. Randomly however, Bind will stop logging and stop forwarding requests. Requests that bind has zones for work fine, however it will refuse to forward any request to any of the 3 servers its set to forward to. There's also nothing in the log - once this starts happening, bind stops writing to the log.

I've tried changing the forwarders, and reinstalling bind - but it still does the same thing. Sometimes it lasts a day, sometimes it lasts a month, and restarting bind always fixes it. Any ideas what might be causing it?

(PS I should add that this DNS server is behind my firewall, so its not publicly accessible).


#2 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 13 April 2014 - 09:55

Are you using a Samba Domain Controller?



#3 OP Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 13 April 2014 - 10:00

Nope there's no domain controller (it's just my local network - no need for anything like that).

It's just a Debian box which has the usual LAMP stuff, mysql, netatalk and samba, etc (just the normal network stuff).

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 13 April 2014 - 12:10

What version of bind 9.x? running on what version of debian and what is the config?  Is this a physical box or a virtual box where you run bind.



#5 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 13 April 2014 - 15:29

Is the box setup with DHCP and has its IP changed on a new lease?



#6 OP Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 13 April 2014 - 17:06

It's a physical box. It has a static IP, and is set to use itself (plus a backup) for its own DNS lookups.

It's running Debian 7.4, and bind 9.8.4:

BIND 9.8.4-rpz2+rl005.12-P1 built with '--prefix=/usr' '--mandir=/usr/share/man' '--infodir=/usr/share/info' '--sysconfdir=/etc/bind' '--localstatedir=/var' '--enable-threads' '--enable-largefile' '--with-libtool' '--enable-shared' '--enable-static' '--with-openssl=/usr' '--with-gssapi=/usr' '--with-gnu-ld' '--with-geoip=/usr' '--enable-ipv6' 'CFLAGS=-fno-strict-aliasing -DDIG_SIGCHASE -O2'
using OpenSSL version: OpenSSL 1.0.1e 11 Feb 2013
using libxml2 version: 2.8.0

It's just setup as a standard DNS server with a zone for the domain I use here, forwarding enabled with 3 servers to forward to, and lookups limited to my IP range here. Again, it's not externally accessible (it's behind a hardware firewall).

#7 Mike

Mike

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-August 02

Posted 13 April 2014 - 17:19

May want to pastebin the config for bind as well. I assume the box its on can connect out via port 53 for both udp/tcp?