Jump to content



Photo

Need suggestion for local backup setup

backup nas storage hard drive

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 29 May 2014 - 02:58

I currently have some data (about 1TB) I need to backup but I need some help with implementation. I was originally thinking of just buying a NAS but then I would still need a backup for that as RAID != backup. A simple option would be just to buy two external drives; however, I feel keeping the two drives' contents synced would be a pain especially considering my computer does not have USB 3.0.

 

For the drives I was planning on buying two of Seagate 2TB NAS drives and I was hoping to not spend more than $600 USD for the drives and other hardware together. Any suggestions?




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:01

Synology, Seagate/WD, RAID 1, done.



#3 OP i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:08

My only problem going with the NAS route is I would then need a backup for it, no? I could potentially buy 2 x 2TB drives, a cheap NAS, and an external 2TB drive as backup. To fit my budget though, I would have to sacrifice features/performance on the NAS. Although my primary need is just backup I don't want to regret going cheap either.



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:26

Why do you need backup of your NAS? It is used to backup files. Just save your important data in more than one spot.



#5 OP i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:35

Well I always read that RAID is not backup. Also a NAS would count as one spot, right? I need a second spot to keep my data too. And do not suggest the cloud please. My data connection is too slow and I would like to backup even my less important data.



#6 blade1269

blade1269

    Jesus Saved me! A Christian!

  • Joined: 10-January 04
  • Location: Arizona
  • OS: Window 8.1 iOS Linux Mint

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:46

Windows home server?

#7 OP i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:52

I suppose you are suggesting I either build or buy a cheap server and put WHS on it, right? Any tips?



#8 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 29 May 2014 - 06:52

Hello,

Here's a paper I wrote a while ago on local backup solutions for home/SOHO use:

 

Options for backing up your computer [PDF, 862KB]

 

It doesn't mention any brands, but it does give an overview of available options.
 
Regards,
 
Aryeh Goretsky



#9 OP i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 29 May 2014 - 15:39

For the amount of data I want backed up and for my budget, I am certain I will be using hard drives of some sort. I just need help deciding between a NAS, a cheap server, or some other method.



#10 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 29 May 2014 - 15:55

Ok raid on your computer is not a backup. A backup is having data in more than one accessible place. If A raid is only accessible in one place in a single pc it is not a backup, if a raid exists on another computer/device and you use that as you backup it is a backup. You need to understand the context. People assume that setting up a raid on their single computer constitutes as a backup. A backup is where you have files in multiple physical locations that can be accessed if the entire computer including the drives in it were to be nuked.

A raid on a single local machine isn't a backup because it doesn't protect you from accidental deletion or corruption or user error. It only protects you from mechanical failure. Most people need a good backup solution not an internal raid solution.

#11 thomag

thomag

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-March 11

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:11

If you can't use Cloud, then you need some external drives for off-site backup. You can get an add-in card that will provide USB 3 ports and then backup to external disk through that. I have a script that does the copy overnight (and sends me an email with the start and end times and the size of the backup so I know if it has worked) and then next morning I just swap the disk over and take last night's home with me. If you use Robocopy (free Microsoft utility) then you can set flags so that it only copies changed / new files, not the whole set of files.

#12 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:18

Ok raid on your computer is not a backup. A backup is having data in more than one accessible place. If A raid is only accessible in one place in a single pc it is not a backup, if a raid exists on another computer/device and you use that as you backup it is a backup. You need to understand the context. People assume that setting up a raid on their single computer constitutes as a backup. A backup is where you have files in multiple physical locations that can be accessed if the entire computer including the drives in it were to be nuked.

A raid on a single local machine isn't a backup because it doesn't protect you from accidental deletion or corruption or user error. It only protects you from mechanical failure. Most people need a good backup solution not an internal raid solution.

 

Truth. I keep my important data on my storage drive, my NAS (RAID1), my 2.5 external, small word documents and pictures on my 4GB USB Flash drive, even some on my parent's computer. All files that you can re-download, that isn't important data. Might take awhile, yes, but it isn't crucial.



#13 Xenon

Xenon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 01

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:24

Keep it simple, but a external hard drive and use the free Microsoft synctoy.



#14 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:30

Keep it simple, but a external hard drive and use the free Microsoft synctoy.

synctoy full of win!



#15 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:30

Ultimately, backup however you want to. Just make sure you have a copy of it which is not connected to your network, and ideally not in the same building.