Jump to content



Photo

A good, reliable gigabit router


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 24 June 2014 - 13:59

Which brand has a good and reliable gigabit router for under $100?  I have the airport extreme base station and love the 802.11ac speeds but I find the router settings to be lacking.  I was thinking of using it as an AP only and getting a gigabit router.

 

The asus rt-n65u looks good and is $85 on Amazon.  I obviously won't be using the built in wifi on the router so that feature doesn't matter.  Any suggestions?




#2 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 24 June 2014 - 14:23

Smallnetbuilder (website) has WAN-to-LAN-speeds for a lot of router hardware, you might want to look there.



#3 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 24 June 2014 - 14:43

I am thinking the TP-Link TL-R600VPN.  It gets decent reviews and is around $60 on amazon.  http://www.amazon.co...keywords=LRT214



#4 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 24 June 2014 - 15:19

The Asus is rock solid.



#5 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 24 June 2014 - 15:35

The Asus is rock solid.

 

That is the one I am leaning toward.  That and my two new netgear gs108na switches and my home network will be set.  Once I have everything put together I shall do a vizio diagram and see what everyone thinks of it.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 June 2014 - 15:54

"but I find the router settings to be lacking."

What features are you looking for that the APE is lacking in.. To me any soho router is going to be lacking, not only in horsepower but feature sets. So sort of features are you looking for. While a benchmark in wan to lan is nice to know that it can handle your internet connection, in the bigger picture this is minor point of a feature set. What is your internet connection speed btw?

You mention some smart switches, are you doing vlans - if so need to make sure your new edge router supports I would assume - I don't think think the gs108s can do layer3 routing or intervlan routing, etc.

Once we get some idea of the things you want to do, we can find something that fits best for your budget, etc.

#7 +d5aqoëp

d5aqoëp

    Banned

  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 24 June 2014 - 15:55

I have ASUS RT-AC68U and it's running like a boss with uptime of 2 months since last firmware update. No devices dropped, iDevices and Android based devices are living like a family.

You can go for any wireless-ac based ASUS router. ASUS is giving great firmware support.

#8 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 24 June 2014 - 16:01

I have ASUS RT-AC68U and it's running like a boss with uptime of 2 months since last firmware update. No devices dropped, iDevices and Android based devices are living like a family.

You can go for any wireless-ac based ASUS router. ASUS is giving great firmware support.

 

That's great but I am not replacing an almost brand new base station with another wireless unit.


"but I find the router settings to be lacking."

What features are you looking for that the APE is lacking in.. To me any soho router is going to be lacking, not only in horsepower but feature sets. So sort of features are you looking for. While a benchmark in wan to lan is nice to know that it can handle your internet connection, in the bigger picture this is minor point of a feature set. What is your internet connection speed btw?

You mention some smart switches, are you doing vlans - if so need to make sure your new edge router supports I would assume - I don't think think the gs108s can do layer3 routing or intervlan routing, etc.

Once we get some idea of the things you want to do, we can find something that fits best for your budget, etc.

 

the gs108na are not smart switches.  they are unmanaged switches.  the gs108t are the smart switches.



#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 June 2014 - 16:15

ah ok - so no vlans then. So what features are you looking for - what does the APE lack that your looking to do?

#10 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 24 June 2014 - 16:19

If you don't mind the slight lack of configuration, the AEBS is the best wireless router I've come across.

What would you like to do that the AEBS can't do?

#11 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 24 June 2014 - 16:31

ah ok - so no vlans then. So what features are you looking for - what does the APE lack that your looking to do?

So the basics of this:

1: all bedrooms, secondary loft, living room, dining room, and kitchen have cat5e that are home runned back to garage.  A netgear gs108na will be placed there to connect all rooms.

2. the rt-n65u will connect to the comcast modem and act as the router for dhcp.  The aebs will be a AP for wireless and connect to the router.

3. the second gs108na will connect to the router and provide access to my server cabinet.  That has my mac mini server, 2 nas, networked printer, and then extra ports for future expansion. 

4. The aebs provides wireless for all wireless devices such as laptop, smartphones, tablets, and roku 3.

 

If you don't mind the slight lack of configuration, the AEBS is the best wireless router I've come across.

What would you like to do that the AEBS can't do?

 

The aebs is great but it does lack some features that the asus provides.



#12 MariosX

MariosX

    The man with no dreams

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Dreamless Land
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 24 June 2014 - 16:33

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you getting a router COMPATIBLE with DD-WRT, OpenWRT, Tomato firmware and having at least ONE USB Port.

DD-WRT is a Linux based firmware in which you can install apps like: BitTorrent client (yes torrents are downloaded straight to your router's HDD which is attached to your router's USB port), AdBlock, Wake on LAN via WAN, NAS/FTP HDD Server etc.

 

The above are found only on expensive routers with official firmware.

Luckily though the mentioned firmwares provide these features for free on low-end routers.

 

More information here:

http://dd-wrt.com/site/index

http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato

https://openwrt.org/

 

And yes, I too recommend you getting an ASUS router which most ASUS routers are compatible with these firmwares.

 

Check the router you want if it is compatible with dd-wrt here:

http://dd-wrt.com/si...router-database



#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 June 2014 - 20:13

"The aebs is great but it does lack some features that the asus provides."

Like what - you have not mentioned 1 feature that you would like to have as of yet. And I 2nd whatever it is you buy, I wouldn't even look at it without 3rd party firmware support.

#14 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 25 June 2014 - 08:22

I was waiting for BudMan to suggest PFSense. He's right. Personally I like IPCop better. But yeah get yourself a low power PC and look at one of the many Linux Firewall Distros then maybe just buy a Wireless AP. 



#15 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 25 June 2014 - 10:53

if he would actually mention a feature that would require moving to that sort of setup - then sure I would suggest it ;)  IPcop works too - use to run it, notice they have been putting out some updates recent. 

 

But other than making blanket statements that asus has more features than his apple - have no clue to what he is looking for.  Features your not going to use while nice for possible future, which is why you have 3rd party support in whatever device you buy. Make little sense to change for.

 

It seems like a very simple question - what is it that your current router does not do, that you want to do??  From that we can drive for options that can do that - or discuss if spending money to do that even makes sense, etc. etc.