Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 hangs


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 SpartanZX7

SpartanZX7

    Gamer

  • Joined: 30-April 13
  • Location: Bridlington
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (64bit)
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 28 June 2014 - 19:36

So recently i upgraded to Windows 8.1 and it was fine. I upgraded my hard drives also a day later to a Samsung 840 Evo and migrated my old drive data to the SSD. So the data is a couple years old (didn't clean install 8.1) Anyway once i cloned my data Windows 8.1 started miss behaving, yes the boot up and opening apps is super quick but sometimes when browsing it just hangs and i can't ctrl-alt-del and i have to wait for it to pop up before i can do anything. So i'm hoping someone can tell me of some ways to fix the problem of the hangs. I've tired various options, all my drivers are up to date. I don't have all that much junk on here as i'm very OCD about keeping my stuff and drives clean and organised. Any help would be great, the hangs are getting very annoying. 




#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 28 June 2014 - 19:37

What did you use to clone the drive, is the alignment on the partition correct? Check by doing this - http://whirlpool.net...g_ssd_alignment



#3 OP SpartanZX7

SpartanZX7

    Gamer

  • Joined: 30-April 13
  • Location: Bridlington
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (64bit)
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 28 June 2014 - 19:40

What did you use to clone the drive, is the alignment on the partition correct? Check by doing this - http://whirlpool.net...g_ssd_alignment

I used the Samsung data migration tool.



#4 OP SpartanZX7

SpartanZX7

    Gamer

  • Joined: 30-April 13
  • Location: Bridlington
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (64bit)
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 28 June 2014 - 19:47

Oh just in case anyone needs to know. My specs are:

 

Asrock 970 Extreme 4

AMD Fx 6300

Gigabyte Windforce 3x 770

Corsair GS700

Corsair H100i 

Samsung 840 Evo

WD Black 



#5 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 27
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 28 June 2014 - 23:40

Might be your videocard if your display freezes, nvidia did that on my pc for quite some time with older drivers. I also have the same ssd

#6 John.D

John.D

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 29 June 2014 - 01:21

If its doing it with a browser, see if an addon is causing it. Disable them. Look in task manager / event viewer. See whats hogging the CPU. I've got the same SSD but havent used it yet. Still have to get the PSU and ram for the system I'm building

 

Before I can use it / install anything on it. But I'll be doing a clean install / not cloning another hdd



#7 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 29 June 2014 - 01:53

I used the Samsung data migration tool.

 

So did you check the alignment?



#8 Damien

Damien

    d(^-^)b

  • Joined: 12-January 10
  • Location: TT
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung S4 Mini

Posted 29 June 2014 - 01:53

Also, check the device manager to see if everything is installed. I have the Razer Blade 14 (2013 edition) and when I upgraded to Windows 8.1 it kept hanging when starting up (forcing me to power off and start again). I was confused, I have 512GB (2 256GB ssds)  and the system booted quickly before. So I restored the factory image and updated again. Turns out the Bluetooth wasn't installed properly so after uninstalling/re-installing the Atheros/Killer drivers after updating to 8.1 the unknown device went away and the system boots and operates as fast as before.



#9 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 29 June 2014 - 02:43

I would try the Automatic Repair feature:

 

http://www.bleepingc...omatic-repair-/



#10 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 29 June 2014 - 02:59

Seeing how the SSD is brand new, maybe you got a dud.



#11 Starbuck84

Starbuck84

    Would You Kindly?

  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Location: Breda, Netherlands

Posted 29 June 2014 - 03:20

You only experience these "hangs" during browsing? What browser are you using? And I'd start by disabling all add-ons for that browser and start enabling one by one to see which one is causing these "hangs". (If you only experience these "hangs" during browsing off course...)



#12 OP SpartanZX7

SpartanZX7

    Gamer

  • Joined: 30-April 13
  • Location: Bridlington
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (64bit)
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 June 2014 - 16:25

You only experience these "hangs" during browsing? What browser are you using? And I'd start by disabling all add-ons for that browser and start enabling one by one to see which one is causing these "hangs". (If you only experience these "hangs" during browsing off course...)

I'm using Google Chrome. Yeah the hangs only happen when browsing.

Seeing how the SSD is brand new, maybe you got a dud.

I don't think it's the SSD i think something went wrong when upgrading, It could be worth mentioning i had to upgrade to Windows 8 then to 8.1 .

Also, check the device manager to see if everything is installed. I have the Razer Blade 14 (2013 edition) and when I upgraded to Windows 8.1 it kept hanging when starting up (forcing me to power off and start again). I was confused, I have 512GB (2 256GB ssds)  and the system booted quickly before. So I restored the factory image and updated again. Turns out the Bluetooth wasn't installed properly so after uninstalling/re-installing the Atheros/Killer drivers after updating to 8.1 the unknown device went away and the system boots and operates as fast as before.

I'll have a look but it's not during start up, as i mentioned it's only during browsing.

So did you check the alignment?

Yes, it's fine.

Might be your videocard if your display freezes, nvidia did that on my pc for quite some time with older drivers. I also have the same ssd

That's an idea, i'll take a look thanks.



#13 Starbuck84

Starbuck84

    Would You Kindly?

  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Location: Breda, Netherlands

Posted 04 July 2014 - 06:05

As it only happens during browsing and the fact it's Google Chrome, just reinstall Chrome? Tried another browser? Opera or something like that? Any add-ons installed in Chrome? Disabled them to see if it makes a difference? You're not telling us much, so we can't really help you here.



#14 hynesy

hynesy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-June 08
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 05 July 2014 - 10:19

As it only happens during browsing and the fact it's Google Chrome, just reinstall Chrome? Tried another browser? Opera or something like that? Any add-ons installed in Chrome? Disabled them to see if it makes a difference? You're not telling us much, so we can't really help you here.

I agree with Starbuc84, start by using another browser. Troubleshooting is about eliminating components one by one if you don't know what the problem is and Chrome is very easy to rule out as a cause by simply trying a different brower. If it still happens then you know it's not Chrome.

 

Edit: Typo


Edited by hynesy, 05 July 2014 - 10:20.


#15 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.6b
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 06 July 2014 - 08:07

this is windows. despite you have amazing system specs and your drivers up2date, no yellow !!!s or ????s in the device manager it still does not work the way it should.

i experienced the same problem with my notebook (hp 255g1) and win7 and browsing the web with google chrome. 3 tabs open, and it basically hangs, nearly crashes, you have to press 3 or 4 times on a button/menu to make it work.

 

my view is, that, you can do 2 things now:

 

- change the browser or whatever software is not working with your os. i am against this, because first, google chrome is not a newcomer and there is a big company behind it, stuff like this just has to work. this is not a highend 3d game, this is webbrowsing. what will happen next? being unable to use adobe reader? or some dvd burning software? the fact remains, that the root, the underlying piece of software, the operating system, is faulty per se and obviously not up to daily basic tasks. shocking, but not surprising.

 

- change the os. yes thats what i would do. you can still dualboot if you need windows for some special apps, but basically i would just move over to linux. with your specs, unity or kde with all effects on will still fly on your system and hear, hear, google chrome works without any problem thats a save bet.

 

the biggest troubleshooting you ll ever have with linux once running is outdated package lists/sources. that means you just unselect them and reload the lists. if windows was just that easy....