Jump to content



Photo

Please help before its too late

os ssd hhd

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Lee Pigdon

Lee Pigdon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-April 14
  • Location: Milton Keynes UK
  • OS: Windows 8 64-Bit

Posted 03 July 2014 - 14:58

So i just built my rig and intended to just run my SSD for OS and then use my HDD for everything else. My 120gb SSD is becoming full and i want to start using my HDD. It seems that the programmes folder on the SSD is causing me the most problems in terms of eating up space. Is there anything i can do other than just store everything i can direct to the HDD? I will redirect where i can but not everything gives me the option too. I have steam installed also so i am wary. I have pointed all my internet DLs to my HDD as well as my Music folder.

 

The SSD has a partition of 100mb that i created when i first installed windows. All help appreciated. I feel like my SSD is a ticking time bomb currently.

 

Thanks.




#2 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:06

Have a look at this, I'm not sure what will happen if you remove the default location and add a new one to be your HDD but you could at least add a second location to help. If you had the time and patience, at the very least you could uninstall the Steam games, change the library path and then reinstall.

 

Steam.png



#3 Sadelwo

Sadelwo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-December 07
  • Location: Look up...
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Lumia 820

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:13

Create a folder called Games (or whatever you like)on the HDD and copy the Steam Folder over to it. Uninstall Steam, restart and then install Steam pointing it to the directory you created on the HDD. It should verify the files and ask you to sign in. When you start a game it will do the same and download any missing files. Works for me as I keep my games on a separate hard disk so re installing Windows is no biggie.



#4 OP Lee Pigdon

Lee Pigdon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-April 14
  • Location: Milton Keynes UK
  • OS: Windows 8 64-Bit

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:23

What do you do about apps that do not give you an option to change destination folder? Or is that a simple... unlucky scenario.



#5 eddman

eddman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Armenia, for now.

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:35

What do you do about apps that do not give you an option to change destination folder? Or is that a simple... unlucky scenario.

It's rare to see applications not offer a installation destination option. I don't think you'd need to worry.

 

P.S. I think a 240/256 GB SSD would be a better option for an OS/application install duty. 120/128 GB is a bit small for this day and age, specially if you are into gaming.

 

EDIT: I forgot. Use this program to see exactly which folders and files are taking the most space. Run as administrator. It has a portable (Zipped executable) version too, so no install required.

 

http://www.jam-softw.../treesize_free/

 

After running it, click on "Scan" and then select the partition you'd like to scan.



#6 ShiZZa

ShiZZa

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • OS: Windows Server 2012
  • Phone: HTC Titian WP7.5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:40

let the app install.  after its complete move it to your other disk.  then create a hard link from your c:\prog files\bad app folder to your other drive location.



#7 Bertch

Bertch

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-January 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 July 2014 - 15:54

Use MKLINK (from the command line) to create a symbolic link from C:\Program Files\ to the other hard drive.  Install everything to program files as normal.



#8 OP Lee Pigdon

Lee Pigdon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-April 14
  • Location: Milton Keynes UK
  • OS: Windows 8 64-Bit

Posted 03 July 2014 - 16:15

I will have to work out how to do that... fairly new to all this.



#9 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 04 July 2014 - 13:04

What skiver said is the best option, and most programs will give you an option to change install location

 

All this moving and creating symlinks is adding unneeded complexity and work for something that is easy to get done right 



#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 04 July 2014 - 13:31

100mb? You mean 100GB? Why would you not have crated the full disk, minus say 10% for over provisioning.. Where is the rest some 7GB more that your partition should be?

I have a 120GB 840 pro as my main drive, and I have like 70GB of space free.. Are you installing games that are like 10GB to install? What is taking up all your space even in your program files folders?

Do you just need to do some clean up of temp stuff?

#11 Riggers

Riggers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-March 08

Posted 04 July 2014 - 15:01

100mb? You mean 100GB? Why would you not have crated the full disk, minus say 10% for over provisioning.. Where is the rest some 7GB more that your partition should be?

I have a 120GB 840 pro as my main drive, and I have like 70GB of space free.. Are you installing games that are like 10GB to install? What is taking up all your space even in your program files folders?

Do you just need to do some clean up of temp stuff?

 

 

 

I think he means the 100MB that contains the boot stuff BudMan.

 

Lee have you ran Disk Cleanup and hit "Clean up system files" then re-booted? If not do so you may be surprised...



#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 July 2014 - 04:36

I don't think so - he wouldn't of created that, windows would of - and its not even shown to the user its not given a drive letter etc.