Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Anarki

Anarki

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 06

Posted 01 August 2014 - 18:28

Running Cat6 throughout my house is not feasible, I wish it was. Therefore I'm running most of the household gadgets wirelessly, and there's a lot of them!

 

We have virgin media 152Mb broadband, using a superhub1 in modem mode connected to a Linksys EA4500. There's a 750GB USB3 HDD connected to it and all computers access files off of it. It's not cutting the mustard and needs replacing.

 

We have 2 Xbox 360's, a PS3, a PS4, 2 mobile phones, 1 tablet, 2 laptops, 2 PC's and another pc is going in soon on wireless.

 

Thinking of upgrading the laptops/PC's to wireless AC and leaving the rest as is.

 

Which out of the 3 routers in the subject is best? Thanks

 




#2 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 August 2014 - 18:34

or the AC87, WRT1900AC or R8000?? :p

 

I'd prolly get the R7000 out of that list and then the Asus is my strong number 2. That Linksys not so hot right now and even the newer one has a few bugs to be worked out.

 

If you are getting something now though then i'd say check out the newest ones.



#3 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 01 August 2014 - 18:39

I'd stay away from the Cisco branded Linksys models as they have some major issues. I have the new WRT1900AC Linksys though and Belkin did a nice job with that model

 

taking the EA model out I'd personally pick the nighthawk from the other 2 choices



#4 OP Anarki

Anarki

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 06

Posted 01 August 2014 - 18:58

Woah I wasn't aware of these new models, I'll check out the reviews for those thanks.



#5 Tager

Tager

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 01

Posted 01 August 2014 - 19:15

have you looked at powerline networking?



#6 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 01 August 2014 - 19:25

I'd stay away from the Cisco branded Linksys models as they have some major issues.

 

I'd stay away of anything Cisco personally.



#7 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 01 August 2014 - 19:30

I'd stay away of anything Cisco personally.

yeah Cisco has really gone down hill over the past few years or so



#8 aniv

aniv

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-August 04
  • Location: Texas, USA

Posted 01 August 2014 - 19:31

I would personally go with the ASUS. I have the RT-AC66R and love it. I heard good things about the Nighthawk too.



#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 01 August 2014 - 19:39

"Running Cat6 throughout my house is not feasible"

Why, is it not your home? I think people think running wires is more difficult than it actually is. And or think they need to run more than actually required sometimes.

Where are they devices are they in the same area(s) You only really need to run your uplinks and then quite often can just use a switch in that area for your devices, etc.

If your wifi is getting filled up with devices, not sure buying a new router is always the best solution. To increase wifi cap you would want more AP, not just 1 faster one most of the time. So running 1 wire to where another AP would be best suited is better than just getting new AP which doesn't really solve the overall issue of too many clients on the same AP, etc.

What number of your clients can do 5ghz for your N, or going AC is going to get you what? Keep in mind that AC is 5ghz only and the coverage area is not going to be larger than what current 5ghz N or 2.4 is, etc.

What is the wireless landscape in your area - if you need to increase the amount of shared bandwidth going to 40mhz or 80mhz with AC - is this feasible?

While wifi makes sense for your mobile devices, consoles and PCs should if possible be on a wire. So again why do you think running wires is not feasible - and as alternative the above mentioned powerline can quite often be better than wireless - can be used to strategically the AP to give you the wifi coverage you want, etc.

For example my internet (cable) comes into the center of the house, this is where my modem and router are - but I have 2 dvrs, media player, console player, etc. in the living room - so I run a wire from there to my media cabinet and have a switch in there. So its running of 1 wire, but gives me the ability to connect multiple devices and AP if needed in another location in the house.

Running a cable into the attic or basement and then into another room is not all that complicated or expensive.. Even if you don't think you can handle it, money spent on having professional do it can be a lot cheaper than you expect while money well spent vs dealing with wireless issues or bandwidth contention, etc.

#10 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 02 August 2014 - 10:52

I don't actually know why some hate Cisco. IMHO there is nothing wrong with Cisco, ASUS, Panasonic, etc.. It's just a brand one like and that's it. You can get hardware problems with the one you own, but that doesn't mean everything they produce is bad.



#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 August 2014 - 10:59

^ Exactly!!! Your talking major players as well - I seriously doubt that all the X brand products are crap.. If they were - why are they one of the major sellers of said product? Just because brand Y disk fails on you, does not mean that brand Y disks are crap ;)