Jump to content



Photo

Dell E4300 Ram upgrade 2x4 GB. Laptop won't boot.

Answered Go to the full post dell e4300 corsair value 2x4 gb ram upgrade boot

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Regert

Regert

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 03
  • Location: Sweden
  • OS: Mainly Windows 7 x64

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:23

Hello dear Neowinians! 

 

I need help with upgradring the RAM on my Dell Laptop. It's a E4300. I think it's a GS45 Express Chipset. 

I am in the choice of either getting a used Thinkpad X200s or similar, but so until I get it I thought upgrading the RAM to 8 GB and then moving it and a SSD to the eventual "new" computer. 

The problem: 

I have changed the 2+2 GB ram that the laptop had to a single 4 GB Corsair Value RAM 1333MHz 1,5v module. Now I bought a second, exactly the same module (I also have a 2 x 8 GB 1600 MHz modules that didn't work, got to know the hard way the the Intel controller didn't take over 4+4 GB). But the computer won't boot. 

 

I really need som advice as I have not 5 modules that don't seem to work together. Which RAM modules does this computer otherwise take? Or have I done some fault in the BIOS settings?

 

As a comparison, I have put 16 GB in a cheap AMD Thinkpad and it runs without any problems. I am good a stationary big computers, but laptops is clearly not my area of expertise. 

 

Kind Regards

 Regert, Sweden. 



Best Answer Geoffrey B. , 17 August 2014 - 18:40

The Current BIOS version for you laptop is A23

 

you can find the latest BIOS version HERE

 

Also I have noticed with a few Dell laptop models that even though the laptop supports a certain amount of ram sometimes you have to lower the voltage or speed for it to actually work. For instance with the Latitude E5510 it says you can use 1666hz but you can only use 1333hz if you want to use more than 4GB of ram on the laptop. as well as dropping from 1.5v to 1.3v for the memory modules as well.

 

(if it matters i am a Dell Certified Technician)

Go to the full post



#2 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:27

What model of laptop is it? some can be a bit more funny about memory than others



#3 OP Regert

Regert

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 03
  • Location: Sweden
  • OS: Mainly Windows 7 x64

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:30

What model of laptop is it? some can be a bit more funny about memory than others

Oh, sorry, forgot that. Corrected. Thanks! 



#4 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:30

The Dell Latitude E4300 maxes out at 8Gb of Ram and it would be important to note what kind you can use in that particular model.

 

(4GBx2) DDR3 PC3-12800 

DDR3 PC3-12800 • CL=11 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.35V

 

So the problem is most likely the RAM you used is not compatible with that Laptop.



#5 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:35

I've noticed that some laptops can really get annoyed if you max out the RAM and don't get the exact optimal memory speeds. If your laptop can use RAM at 1600Mhz it's possible it will only boot at 8GB if you use actual 1600Mhz RAM. I'd also recommend not picking "performance" stuff or RAM with special/low latencies. Go budget and as simple as possible.

 

And try updating BIOS. Dell usually provides a lot of BIOS updates so it's likely you're a few versions behind. Might fix it.



#6 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:40   Best Answer

The Current BIOS version for you laptop is A23

 

you can find the latest BIOS version HERE

 

Also I have noticed with a few Dell laptop models that even though the laptop supports a certain amount of ram sometimes you have to lower the voltage or speed for it to actually work. For instance with the Latitude E5510 it says you can use 1666hz but you can only use 1333hz if you want to use more than 4GB of ram on the laptop. as well as dropping from 1.5v to 1.3v for the memory modules as well.

 

(if it matters i am a Dell Certified Technician)



#7 OP Regert

Regert

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 03
  • Location: Sweden
  • OS: Mainly Windows 7 x64

Posted 17 August 2014 - 18:50

The Dell Latitude E4300 maxes out at 8Gb of Ram and it would be important to note what kind you can use in that particular model.

 

(4GBx2) DDR3 PC3-12800 

DDR3 PC3-12800 • CL=11 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.35V

 

So the problem is most likely the RAM you used is not compatible with that Laptop.

 

Well, I see. Hm.. I did some tests. 

All modules are 4 GB Corsair Valueram. All according to Corsair specs 1.5 V

1. 1600 MHz CMSO4GX3M1A1600C11 - 8 memory chips - won't boot. Number pad symbol blinks 

2. 1333 MHz CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9 - 8 memory chips - won't boot. Number pad symbol blinks. 

3. 1333 MHz CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9 - 16 memory chips - boots. 

I've noticed that some laptops can really get annoyed if you max out the RAM and don't get the exact optimal memory speeds. If your laptop can use RAM at 1600Mhz it's possible it will only boot at 8GB if you use actual 1600Mhz RAM. I'd also recommend not picking "performance" stuff or RAM with special/low latencies. Go budget and as simple as possible.

 

And try updating BIOS. Dell usually provides a lot of BIOS updates so it's likely you're a few versions behind. Might fix it.

 

OK. I'll try. There seems to be a newer BIOS. 


The Current BIOS version for you laptop is A23

 

you can find the latest BIOS version HERE

 

Also I have noticed with a few Dell laptop models that even though the laptop supports a certain amount of ram sometimes you have to lower the voltage or speed for it to actually work. For instance with the Latitude E5510 it says you can use 1666hz but you can only use 1333hz if you want to use more than 4GB of ram on the laptop. as well as dropping from 1.5v to 1.3v for the memory modules as well.

 

(if it matters i am a Dell Certified Technician)

 

OK, Thanks. I'll update the BIOS. Hm.. the start screen says A26. Weird. I'll test your link anyway. 

Edit: There seems to be a A23 BIOS version that has been updated 3/5/2014 while the A26 was last updated 12/11/2013? Is it worth trying the A23? 

If it won't work I guess I have to find some 1.35 V RAM modules to get 8 GB. 

 

Edit: Flash the laptop to A23 BIOS. Works only with the 16-chip module. Otherwise the Numlock flashes. 



#8 OP Regert

Regert

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 03
  • Location: Sweden
  • OS: Mainly Windows 7 x64

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:35

Thankyou for the help everyone. I'll try to get hold of 1.3 V ram and probably buy another laptop as well. I'll need a backup laptop anyway. 

Cheers

Regert