Jump to content



Photo

Onboard Realtek audio keeps cutting out when set to 5.1


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 31 August 2014 - 15:38

So I recently got an analog 5.1 (3 separate plugs) surround speaker system, and plugged it into my onboard Realtek.  The audio keeps randomly cutting out.  Like I can't listen to a 3 minute song without getting half a dozen 4-second interruptions, where the music keeps playing, but nothing comes out of my speakers.  

 

I tried a different set of speakers, just to make sure it wasn't my speakers, and it still happens.  It only seems to happen if I select quadraphonic, 5.1 or 7.1 audio output - it works fine on stereo.  On the "communications" tab of the sound properties dialog, I have it set to "do nothing", not "mute all other sounds" when windows detects communications activity, so that's not it.  

 

It doesn't seem to matter what the volume of the source audio is, whether it is quiet dialogue or loud explosions, the audio can cut out at any moment for any reason.




#2 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 31 August 2014 - 15:42

Did you try different speakers? It could be the amp in them that's overloading.



#3 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 31 August 2014 - 18:05

Did you try updating to the latest (Realtek) sound drivers ?

 

http://www.realtek.com/downloads/

 

Rolling back drivers ?

 

Is there a Chipset update for your motherboard ?

 

Is your power supply up to snuff ?

 

How much RAM do you have ?

 

Close unneeded programs.



#4 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 31 August 2014 - 18:52

Did you try different speakers? It could be the amp in them that's overloading.

 

"I tried a different set of speakers".  I've tried 4 different sets of speakers.  It's not the speakers.

 

Did you try updating to the latest (Realtek) sound drivers ?

 

http://www.realtek.com/downloads/

 

Rolling back drivers ?

 

Is there a Chipset update for your motherboard ?

 

Is your power supply up to snuff ?

 

How much RAM do you have ?

 

Close unneeded programs.

 

Yep, already have latest drivers from same exact source.

 

There is no anything to download for my motherboard, as it is an OEM board; FRS780M.  My PSU is more than capable of powering speakers; this happens whether I am playing a low bitrate MP3 or a GPU-intensive 3d game.

 

I have 4GB DDR3, although I don't see how my RAM could make my audio output drop.

 

This happens after a fresh reboot, it is unaffected by other running programs.

 

 

I also just noticed that if I happen to have the Realtek HD Audio Manager app running at the time of this bug, I get a balloon message popup that says ""you just unplugged a device from the audio jack" "you just plugged a device into the audio jack", both messages in quick succession.  No, the plugs are not actually coming out of the jacks.

 

 

EDIT: So after doing some googling, this is a huge issue amongst pretty much every onboard Realtek audio chip ever made.  There are thousands of people with the same issue, and no fix. There are fixes to make the "you just unplugged" popup go away, but it doesn't solve the audio cutting in and out.  

 

F8ck Realtek.



#5 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 31 August 2014 - 19:54

Did you perhaps try a Bootable Linux distro? See if those same instances happen.

 

If not, it could be a driver issue, you try older drivers?



#6 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:04

I have on-board Realtek running with analog 5.1 and do not have this issue, so anecdotal evidence does not help me in assisting you. There is likely something else causing it. It would help greatly if you posted what hardware and OS you're running.

 

Next step (from me):  Try toggling exclusive mode in the sound control panel. If it's on, turn it off or vice versa.



#7 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:05

Did you perhaps try a Bootable Linux distro? See if those same instances happen.

 

If not, it could be a driver issue, you try older drivers?

 

Hey that's a good idea!  Although I think I might have fixed it.  One of the many sites I found on google suggested unplugging the front audio panel, and I did that, and it doesn't seem to be cutting out anymore!  There may have been a dust-short on the front panel connector or cable?



#8 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:06

I'd also recommend chipset drivers.  This an AMD system? http://support.amd.c...=Windows 7 - 64 (or sub the 7 for 8 or whatever.)

 

The OEM is pretty much the last place to get anything these days, except for the random extras like BIOS updates and touchpad drivers.

 

Hopefully it's fixed though, nevermind. :)



#9 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:08

I'd also recommend chipset drivers.  This an AMD system? http://support.amd.c...=Windows 7 - 64 (or sub the 7 for 8 or whatever.)

 

The OEM is pretty much the last place to get anything these days, except for the random extras like BIOS updates and touchpad drivers.

 

Good to see it's fixed though, nevermind. :)

 

Yes, the chipset is an AMD 780G - I had no idea I could install drivers straight from AMD, so thanks for the info!



#10 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:17

Yes, the chipset is an AMD 780G - I had no idea I could install drivers straight from AMD, so thanks for the info!

 

That's a big one for AMD. You can get all sorts of weirdness without their chipset drivers. :)



#11 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 31 August 2014 - 20:21

That's a big one for AMD. You can get all sorts of weirdness without their chipset drivers. :)

Not really noticed anything on their current systems at least, but the 7xx chipset line isn't exactly current I suppose.

 

I had audio getting really quiet on my Realtek on my box with win8s music app (and not coming back to normal without a reboot) with the PSU that hated my system o.o  Now it's fine.  That was weird.



#12 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 01 September 2014 - 03:22

There is no anything to download for my motherboard, as it is an OEM board; FRS780M.  My PSU is more than capable of powering speakers; this happens whether I am playing a low bitrate MP3 or a GPU-intensive 3d game.

 

I have 4GB DDR3, although I don't see how my RAM could make my audio output drop.

 

This happens after a fresh reboot, it is unaffected by other running programs.

 

 

I also just noticed that if I happen to have the Realtek HD Audio Manager app running at the time of this bug, I get a balloon message popup that says ""you just unplugged a device from the audio jack" "you just plugged a device into the audio jack", both messages in quick succession.  No, the plugs are not actually coming out of the jacks.

All motherboards have some form of Chipset drivers.

 

Often a CD comes with them on.

 

Often there are updates to them.

 

Overtaxing a CPU is one possible cause of sound cutting out.

 

More RAM can help ease stress on the CPU.

 

In this case, your 'unplugged device' message sounds like a lack of proper Chipset drivers.