Why aren't other Windows tablets/hybrids (besides the Surface) selling?

As many of you may have realize by now, I am a college student.

Obviously, college students aren't representative of the general public, but I do make this observation:

I have seen quite a few Surface(s), specifically the Surface Pro 3 on campus, but I have rarely ever seen other Windows tablets/hybrids.

It's hard for me to understand why OEMs have trouble selling their Windows tablets/hybrids since the Surface tablets are quite expensive and it wouldn't be hard for OEMs to undercut the price of the Surface Pro X.

They last quarter sales indicated that the surface made up 1/3rd of windows tablet/hybrid sales, so others are selling, but there's a good number of them and new ones on the way already. You could see more over time as they get better hardware, many are low end, you don't try to do much work with those like with a Surface Pro 3.

They last quarter sales indicated that the surface made up 1/3rd of windows tablet/hybrid sales, so others are selling, but there's a good number of them and new ones on the way already. You could see more over time as they get better hardware, many are low end, you don't try to do much work with those like with a Surface Pro 3.

Considering that the Surface Pro 3 starts at $800 while other Windows tablets start at sub-$100, it's hard to understand that the Surface series make up 1/3 of all Windows tablet/hybrid sales.

Considering that the Surface Pro 3 starts at $800 while other Windows tablets start at sub-$100, it's hard to understand that the Surface series make up 1/3 of all Windows tablet/hybrid sales.

Like I said, they need better hardware, need to stop with all the 8" 1280x800 devices, I think MS will have to show them the way with a surface mini. 1920x1080 or 1200, should be the default res for 8" tablets this year.

Obviously, college students aren't representative of the general public, but I do make this observation: