Jump to content



Photo

Witcher 2 lockups


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 +Zagadka

Zagadka

    Sapiosexual

  • Joined: 17-December 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Win 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 822

Posted 25 May 2015 - 08:28

I avoided Witcher 2 for a while, but I wanted to catch up so I can do Witcher 3... So I labor back at it, and after arriving at the first chapter (damn long prologue)... it just kinda locks up. Randomly, I can't replicate it on demand, and it happens whether I'm fighting or walking around or trading. The graphics lock, background sound continues, have to tab out and terminate the process. Running full vanilla. It happens frequently enough that it is impossible to play. 

 

The usuals (drivers, background processes, reinstalling) don't help. The outlier here is that it never locked up in prologue.

 

Suggestions?




#2 Zodiarck

Zodiarck

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 10

Posted 25 May 2015 - 08:34

Windows version ?



#3 OP +Zagadka

Zagadka

    Sapiosexual

  • Joined: 17-December 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Win 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 822

Posted 25 May 2015 - 08:50

8.1



#4 Zodiarck

Zodiarck

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 10

Posted 25 May 2015 - 11:24

Have you used the site CanIRunIT ?

 

I'm asking this things because i also just started playing the witcher 2 , and i'm fine , and if your hardware can run it , maybe it's the windows version (IMO)



#5 vetPabUK

PabUK

    Angry for Coins

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-August 01

Posted 25 May 2015 - 11:42

Have you tried dropping the graphics settings? What sort of FPS are you getting and how much is it taxing your GPU? You can run something like GPU-Z in the background while playing to check this.

#6 OP +Zagadka

Zagadka

    Sapiosexual

  • Joined: 17-December 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Win 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 822

Posted 25 May 2015 - 11:50

It isn't the graphics card struggling, I have a machine well beyond the specs.



#7 vetPabUK

PabUK

    Angry for Coins

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-August 01

Posted 25 May 2015 - 12:38

You haven't really provided much info, like a list of your specs and what settings you are using. Even if you have a powerful system you can still easily max it out, by not using V-Sync for example.

#8 OP +Zagadka

Zagadka

    Sapiosexual

  • Joined: 17-December 10
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Win 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 822

Posted 25 May 2015 - 15:44

I was slack on system specs because I'm pretty damn sure it isn't hardware or driver related and more than sufficient for Witcher 2. My card is a 4 GB 760 GTX, system is i5 3.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, other games and benchmarks run fine.



#9 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 26 May 2015 - 12:54

Have you tried various NV drivers?