Help with Storage Spaces on simple standalone file server (Windows Server 2012 R2)

Hello,

I am deploying Windows Server 2012 R2 on a simple standalone file server and need some "best practices" on how to setup Storage Spaces in an efficient manner.

The intent is to install 3x4TB drives (12TB total) for use in the Storage Pool. But I am new to the Storage Spaces concepts and am very confused on how many "virtual" disks I should be creating for the pool, how many volumes and so on. Do I use NTFS or ReFS? So many questions :)

Ideally - I want to be able to do this correctly the first time to ensure efficient use of space, solid performance throughput on file transfer all while ensuring the files are duplicated across the drives in an efficient manner (I do know to use Mirror for the v-discs)

If anyone can walk me thru the basics of setup of Storage Spaces using a simple standalone instance of WS2012 R2 and my intended 12TB of SATA drives in the most efficient manner - I would truly appreciate it.

Cheers!

VP

On 2/7/2016 at 6:25 AM, Vocalpoint said:

Hello,

I am deploying Windows Server 2012 R2 on a simple standalone file server and need some "best practices" on how to setup Storage Spaces in an efficient manner.

The intent is to install 3x4TB drives (12TB total) for use in the Storage Pool. But I am new to the Storage Spaces concepts and am very confused on how many "virtual" disks I should be creating for the pool, how many volumes and so on. Do I use NTFS or ReFS? So many questions :)

Ideally - I want to be able to do this correctly the first time to ensure efficient use of space, solid performance throughput on file transfer all while ensuring the files are duplicated across the drives in an efficient manner (I do know to use Mirror for the v-discs)

If anyone can walk me thru the basics of setup of Storage Spaces using a simple standalone instance of WS2012 R2 and my intended 12TB of SATA drives in the most efficient manner - I would truly appreciate it.