Jump to content



Photo

Adding launchers to Gnome menu?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 vetAaron

Aaron

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-February 03
  • Location: -?-

Posted 09 March 2005 - 17:25

Strange thing happened, after nautilus applcations:///Internet, I get a window full of the automagically installed launchers. For no good reason I decided that Mozilla Firefo neededt o be renamed just firefox. After doing that, it no longer appeared in the Gnome menu, even though it does appear in the nautilus window. Ditto for a Skype launcher I placed there. Why is it that I can place them but they don't show up?

I reinstalled Firefox to see if it would recreate the launcher, it didn't. Now when I launch firefox it doesn''t know who I am, no bookmarks or cookies.

What do I need to do to get my personally created launchers to show?


#2 OP vetAaron

Aaron

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-February 03
  • Location: -?-

Posted 09 March 2005 - 20:23

Another oddity that I would love to have explained. I just created a launcher on my desktop that is identical to the one in the ///Internet area (that doesn't know me). It launched Firefox with all of my old settings... what is it that I am not understanding here?

#3 j79zlr

j79zlr

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 05
  • Location: Chicago, IL

Posted 10 March 2005 - 09:00

IF you are running Gentoo, the recent update to Gnome-2.8.3 without updating Gnome-panel to 2.8.3 caused this. Updating gnomepanel should fix your issue.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!