Newbie here in PHP and need help for this!

Question

Ok.. im doing a kind of registration form for users... so i can deleted user from another page as an admin.. now for example i want to delete a user and i have this link:

href=deleteuser.php?userid=X

where the x depends of the user i want to delete

so in the deleteuser.php file i have a routine or function that delete the user...for example

DELETE FROM TABLE WHERE field=userid...

It works great... my problem or the thing i wanna know is HOW TO PREVENT DELETING DIRECTLY FROM ADDRESS BAR??

for example if i write in the IE address bar this http://server/deleteuser.php?userid=5 it will execute directly the script...

so i want the script only for being executed if the admin or the user that wants to delete the record comes from the page where you choose the user he wants to delete...

I dont know if you get my question.. i would like your help please!

Any question yo ucan tell me!

Thanks!

14 answers to this question

Hi there,

There are several ways this can be done..

1) Make the delete page check the referrer page URL, so it has to be referred from the page where you have the click link...

2) Write a password authorization script and make it so you have to type a password in before it works, or have it check for a cookie which you can make it place when you login as admin on the page where you have the link.

3) Place the deleteuser.php into a folder and place a htaccess file inside the folder and make it password protected.

Hope that helps!

Originally posted by Xcalibur

1) Make the delete page check the referrer page URL, so it has to be referred from the page where you have the click link...

i can i do this???...

:old:

DO NOT DO THAT!!! It does work, BUT the information for the page that you just came from is supplied by the browser, so it is easy to spoof, making that a huge security problem. You'll have to make a login scheme.