Jump to content



Photo

DNS Cache Program?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Computer Guru

Computer Guru

    Mostly Harmless...

  • Joined: 23-April 05
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 04 January 2006 - 20:16

My ISP's DNS is crap, and I am in the middle of nowhere ping-wise....
I've checked and tried the all the DNS lists online, and yet the slowest part of my 512/128 kbps DSL is the DNS lookups.

I used to use TreeWalk DNS Cacher, but that program has been dead for quite some time, and though it ran OK on XP at first, it then gave me more issues than it solved. It does not work at all on Vista (it installs but does not cache anything)

I need a (preferably free) program that can locally cache all DNS queries.. Maybe even a very light local DNS server..

Any suggestions guys? Thanks!


#2 ahodes1

ahodes1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 01

Posted 04 January 2006 - 21:10

You can configure how long Windows holds cached results by configuring the following registry entries:
HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\DNSCache\Parameters\MaxCacheEntryTtlLimit (binary type) - the value is the number of seconds windows will hold a positive DNS query (Default is 86,400 seconds/1 day).

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\DNSCache\Parameters\NegativeCacheTime (binary type)- the value is the number of seconds Windows will hold a negative DNS query (Default is 300 seconds).

Other than that, I'd say your best bet is to install a local DNS server and have it query the authoritive DNS servers for each domain directly rather than forwarding queries to your ISPs DNS.

#3 jafoman

jafoman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Chatsworth, CA

Posted 04 January 2006 - 21:13

TreeWalk DNS is not dead. It simply moved websites. Check out www.treewalkdns.com. I'm using the latest 8.21 release (Nov 11, 2005) at home and it works great.

#4 OP Computer Guru

Computer Guru

    Mostly Harmless...

  • Joined: 23-April 05
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 04 January 2006 - 21:28

Thanks mate! Checking it out on Vista now..
I had used this link: http://ntcanuck.com/

#5 jafoman

jafoman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Chatsworth, CA

Posted 04 January 2006 - 21:43

Thanks mate! Checking it out on Vista now..
I had used this link: http://ntcanuck.com/


Yeah, me too up until a few weeks ago... Too bad they don't at least put up a link on ntcanuck.com saying that the support for the software has moved... Many folks probably think it died. :(

Great program... Great performance!

#6 OP Computer Guru

Computer Guru

    Mostly Harmless...

  • Joined: 23-April 05
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 04 January 2006 - 22:16

This one works on vista!

#7 OP Computer Guru

Computer Guru

    Mostly Harmless...

  • Joined: 23-April 05
  • Location: Chicago

Posted 04 January 2006 - 22:43

For some weird reason www.pro-networks.org refuses to cache...
no other site is acting like that.

#8 zac1333

zac1333

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 04
  • Location: Texas

Posted 05 January 2006 - 05:56

Analog X FastCache

#9 Er Sharanmeet Singh

Er Sharanmeet Singh

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 04 March 2013 - 08:15

i want to create my own DNS internet caching server. i did it with linux but the caching memory is low. so i tired with Windows server 2003 and find the same issue of low memory.

Dear
ahodes, I read a line in ur post,

"Other than that, I'd say your best bet is to install a local DNS server and have it query the authoritive DNS servers for each domain directly rather than forwarding queries to your ISPs DNS."

I am looking for the same, if any one can help me to create my own DNS caching server for at leaset 500 users

#10 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 04 March 2013 - 08:22

have you tried a different DNS?

#11 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 04 March 2013 - 08:27

Holy thread revival batman.

First time poster, posting in a 2006 thread lmao.

If you are encountering low memory issues on both Windows and Linux - then install more memory = sorted.

#12 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 04 March 2013 - 08:45

I'm just going to put this here....

Posted Image

7 year old thread revival. That's some kind of a record right?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!