Jump to content



Photo

Block bit torrent download by router?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Hez

Hez

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 04
  • Location: Shanghai

Posted 22 January 2006 - 09:37

I cannot download through bit torrent now, the speed is always 0 and then mission failed.
I share the ADSL with my neighbor by router. I think my neighbor've set sth. on router to block it.
Do I right? and How to deal with? Thanks.


#2 thermal+paste

thermal+paste

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 06

Posted 22 January 2006 - 09:59

isn't bit torrent like the napster of now? I would be more concerned about lawsuits than clickity click click click? what port does torrent run? your internet dude probably blocked that port. makes sense if you are using HIS connection.

#3 low

low

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-September 04
  • Location: Australia

Posted 22 January 2006 - 10:47

i had same problem... my firewall was being a pain in the a*s... and that what was stopping mine...

l0w

#4 HighwayGlider

HighwayGlider

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-November 05

Posted 22 January 2006 - 10:54

Well, u could try using other ports. Avoid port 68xx, use higher port numbers, but to get the perfect download speed; since u r using a router, u should do port forwarding on the router + if ure using XP-SP2, open the port on the XP firewall as well.

#5 h9290

h9290

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-December 05

Posted 22 January 2006 - 11:01

wt program do u use ?
i mean for d.loading bittorrent files,,

try bitcomet,it wont matter with the router,but if he has it blocked from a firewall(program block)
then u wont be able to use it

#6 MrCobra

MrCobra

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN (USA)

Posted 22 January 2006 - 11:04

It might be because you're using BitComet. Most, if not all torrent sites has blocked BitComet from being used. Try Azureus or uTorrent.

#7 tony-inpo

tony-inpo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-June 05
  • Location: Isle of Wight, UK

Posted 22 January 2006 - 11:05

Ask him if hes blocked the program? :rolleyes:
If he has, (or if you don't want to ask) then tell your client to use another port

#8 OP Hez

Hez

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 04
  • Location: Shanghai

Posted 22 January 2006 - 12:29

I think change a port is a good idea.
Thanks. :D

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 January 2006 - 14:40

How to deal with? Thanks.

Um get your OWN connection ;) Or get with your neighbor on use or non use of P2P apps.. times bandwidth restrictions, etc..