PHP: Do you know basic syntax?

PHP: Do you know basic syntax?  

89 members have voted

1. 1. Do you know basic syntax?

• Yes, I'm a professional developer.
    • Yes, I'm not a professional developer.
    • I thought I did until now.
    • No.

Question

It seems that a lot or even most php programmers just jumped in and never read the manual or even know basic syntax...

The ones I see all the time are:

Not checking variable existence by just doing

$param = $_GET['param'];

instead of the correct

$param = isset($_GET['param']) ? $_GET['param'] : NULL;

which will not return a notice exception

Reference: http://au3.php.net/manual/en/language.variables.php

Using short tags

<?

instead of the proper

<?php

which will run on many more servers

Reference: http://php.net/manual/en/language.basic-syntax.php

Also the misuse of double quotes

$var = "hello";

should be

$var = 'hello';

which saves processing time

Reference: http://php.net/manual/en/language.types.st...g.syntax.single

Those are just some of the most common ones.

So what i'm asking is:

Why didn't you know this stuff if you didn't before hand?

Or if you did know this, then why do you think things like this are so ignored?

Note:

The option "I thought I did until now." should read "No, I'm a professional developer."

The option "No." should read "No, I'm a unprofessional developer."

-------------------

This thread has kinda turned into a tips thread, so here are a collection of tips that have been collected so far.

Single quotes vs Double quotes

$var = 'hello';
$string = '$var is '.$var;
// is faster than
$var = 'hello';
$string = "\$var is $var";

https://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?show...amp;p=588249172

Switch statements VS if then else statements

switch ($var)
{
   case $option1:
	  break;
   case $option2:
	  break;
   default:
	  break;
}
// is faster than
if ( $var == $option1 )
{ }
elseif ( $var == $option2 )
{ }
else
{ }

Thanks to redFX for reminding us of that: