Jump to content



Photo

Recovering WEP


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 David R.

David R.

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-July 04

Posted 25 January 2007 - 04:54

I have the WEP code for my home wireless connection in my laptop so it automatically will connect, but I've forgotten it. I was wondering if there was any free or trial software that could recover it for me since Windows hides it?

I realize I could either A) change the WEP code or B) Reset the router and reconfigure. However, with A) my router requires me to enter the old one to set a new one and B) I don't have the settings to connect with my ISP written down, and I'd rather not have to deal with their crap.

I also realize this seems fishy, but the best I can do is promise that this is indeed the true scenario. If this is locked I fully understand.

Thanks for your time,
David


EDIT: Actually, after having searched for such software, I found some after posting >.< Sorry!


#2 h3xis

h3xis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-July 04

Posted 25 January 2007 - 05:03

Cain will do exactly what you want to do. It's a password recovery app, but is usually used for nefarious deeds so your antivirus may pick it up; I'd probably disable your antivirus temporarily while you use it. It has a feature (among many other things) that lets you recover passwords from Windows' Wireless Zero Configuration. I don't know where to do it exactly in the program so you'll have to look around yourself but it is in there. Good luck.

http://www.oxid.it/cain.html

edit: er...nevermind then ^^

#3 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 20 December 2012 - 22:50

WEP is pretty much wide open security wise.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 21 December 2012 - 15:14

I wouldn't use wep and security in the same sentence. It can be cracked in like 30 seconds! You really need to change to WPA or better yet WPA2 with a SECURE PSK!!

As to reading the wifi psks you have stored - here

http://www.nirsoft.n...reless_key.html

Posted Image

WirelessKeyView recovers all wireless network security keys/passwords (WEP/WPA) stored in your computer by the 'Wireless Zero Configuration' service of Windows XP or by the 'WLAN AutoConfig' service of Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows Server 2008. It allows you to easily save all keys to text/html/xml file, or copy a single key to the clipboard. You can also export your wireless keys into a file and import these keys into another computer.

#5 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 21 December 2012 - 15:18

I wouldn't use wep and security in the same sentence. It can be cracked in like 30 seconds! You really need to change to WPA or better yet WPA2 with a SECURE PSK!!

As to reading the wifi psks you have stored - here

http://www.nirsoft.n...reless_key.html
WirelessKeyView recovers all wireless network security keys/passwords (WEP/WPA) stored in your computer by the 'Wireless Zero Configuration' service of Windows XP or by the 'WLAN AutoConfig' service of Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows Server 2008. It allows you to easily save all keys to text/html/xml file, or copy a single key to the clipboard. You can also export your wireless keys into a file and import these keys into another computer.


I believe that on 7 and 8 you can actually view the stored key natively.

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 21 December 2012 - 15:22

I believe that on 7 and 8 you can actually view the stored key natively.


Yup here you go

http://www.mydigital...d-in-windows-7/

looks like you can.

#7 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 21 December 2012 - 15:25

Where? How? I don't think that is is the case.

Hmmm
http://www.mydigital...d-in-windows-7/

looks like you can.

you open the setting from the charms bar, click network then right click the network you want (SKYwireless) in my case, then click view connection properties then click "Show characters" in the dialog that pops up

edit: You beat me to it with post edit :laugh:

#8 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 21 December 2012 - 22:51

Anyone realize this post got dug up from 5 years ago???

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 December 2012 - 11:56

hahaha - thats freaking great, 1 post wonder linking to his spammy software he is trying to hawk.

#10 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:31

hahaha - thats freaking great, 1 post wonder linking to his spammy software he is trying to hawk.

he is gone, now it looks like you bumped the thread lol

#11 ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 22 December 2012 - 12:35

LOL

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 December 2012 - 13:31

No it looks like hawkman bumped it now ;)

#13 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 22 December 2012 - 20:05

5 year old thread.... closed.