[C++] How to Create Instance of another class?

Question

I am new to C++, and I am making a simple RPG game. I have an 'Item' class, which has properties and methods that all items will have. I need to be able to:

a) Inherit from this class to make a class with the item properties and methods, along with new ones

b) Make a new instance of this class in my main class. For example in vb.net:

Class MainClass

dim sword as new ItemClass

End Class

I have tried the following in C++:

new ItemClass sword;

However this gives me the error:

error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'ItemClass'

so it isn't recognising the other class? Thanks for any help :)

6 answers to this question

it is more like

ItemClass *sword;

sword = new ItemClass();

Thanks, but I still get the same errors (plus errors saying 'sword' is an undeclared identifier)

The Item.h file is in the same projet, but do I need to reference it in any way at the start of my main class file? (and the code is meant to be in th .h rather than the .cpp file right?) Or when I created this file/ object, what type should I have chosen? (C++ class, or just C++ file?)

Also, for the sake of gaining a better understanding, what does the asterix * mean?

Thanks again

To create a new instance of a class, you do this:

MyClass NewClassInstance;

If you want to create more than one, you can do this:

MyClass *NewClassInstances = new MyClass[500];

You can essentially treat classes as if they were ints or floats, similar syntax.

In your case, you have created a base item class. You said you wanted to inherit from it in order to create new items. I'm not sure if what you said is what you meant to do, but I'll show you a quick example of what that would be:

//This is your base item class
class Item {

int cost;
char[50] name;
int arbitraryValue;
// etc.

}

class HealingItem : public Item {

// Inherits from Item, can be used just like Item

}

Now when you do this, you can do something rather nifty.