Jump to content



Photo

[Tutorial] Changing the start button image


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Jimmy422

Jimmy422

    Windows Fanatic

  • Joined: 03-November 08

Posted 27 August 2009 - 02:20

So you don't like the default start button, and you want to change it. In previous versions of Windows, this was very hard to do and it was kinda pointless. In Windows 7, it's easier and more awesome to do.

First thing you'll need is a resource editor. If you're on 32bit Windows 7 - you can use pretty much anything. Resource hacker is a good tool. If you're on 64bit, well, it's a little harder. There are no free 64bit supporting resource editors out there. None. Nada. You can't use a 32bit resource editor on a 64bit resource either :( . So you'll have to somehow obtain one, the only one I know of that works is Restorator 2007.

Second thing you'll need is a graphics editor. Gimp, Paint.NET, Photoshop, all of them work.

Alright, so to start, we'll use this template:
Posted Image

Open this up in Photoshop or whatever and start editing. This is your standard template.

A = The start button without your mouse over it.

B = The start button with your mouse over it (Will fade from A to this)

C = The start button clicked on and the start menu open.

You can even make the circles a square, just make sure you stay within 27px from the center of the circle, as that is your boundry. Note that black = transparency.

Here's the finished product for one I made earlier:
Posted Image

Now, open up your resource editor. Copy explorer.exe to the desktop, and open that with your resource editor.

In the "Bitmap" section, you'll want to replace 1 of 2 things. Either bitmap 6801, or 6805. 6801 is for the taskbar with "Use Small Icons", and 6805 is for the normal taskbar. The other bitmaps are for different DPIs, but we're not going to go into that. You can replace both 6801 and 6805 if you like.

Take ownership of the original explorer.exe, rename it to explorer.bak, and replace it with the new modded one. Restart explorer, and viola.

Posted Image

Posted Image

I'll go into detail about taking ownership and stuff tomorrow, just wanted to get this out there now.


#2 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 28 August 2009 - 10:24

Good job....could you upload a proper bitmap of your start button?

#3 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 28 August 2009 - 12:25

Attached File  6805.bmp   34.23KB   295 downloads

Square :laugh:

#4 profets

profets

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Posted 28 August 2009 - 17:45

Attached File  6805.bmp   34.23KB   295 downloads

Square :laugh:


can you post any screenshots of what the taskbar looks like with square start button? i'd love to change it to square from the round one..

#5 Chris000001

Chris000001

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-June 05

Posted 28 August 2009 - 17:56

64-bit capable free resource editor (beta)
http://anolis.codepl...ReleaseId=29388

#6 OP Jimmy422

Jimmy422

    Windows Fanatic

  • Joined: 03-November 08

Posted 28 August 2009 - 18:29

64-bit capable free resource editor (beta)
http://anolis.codepl...ReleaseId=29388

Doesn't work, so i didn't mention it.

#7 Chris000001

Chris000001

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-June 05

Posted 28 August 2009 - 22:07

Doesn't work, so i didn't mention it.

Oops, I guess I should have tried it first... (someday it might work.)

#8 svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 28 August 2009 - 23:00

Tried it with Restorator 2007/2009 and it works fine on my 64 bit copy. Tried replacing bitmap 6801 but it still showed the default icon using small icons. 6805 worked fine for the large icons though. I'll wait to see what others come up with as I'm too lazy to make my own.

#9 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 29 August 2009 - 02:11

Doesn't work, so i didn't mention it.


Could you upload a bitmap of your start button, the jpeg is pretty bad looking when I tried it.

#10 OP Jimmy422

Jimmy422

    Windows Fanatic

  • Joined: 03-November 08

Posted 29 August 2009 - 02:38

Could you upload a bitmap of your start button, the jpeg is pretty bad looking when I tried it.

Sure.

Attached Files



#11 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 31 August 2009 - 10:19

Having some trouble with a black square box showing up on hover, anybody know how to get rid of this bug?

7000_6.jpg

#12 -KJ

-KJ

    ٩(●̮̮̃•̃)۶ 

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • Location: Texas

Posted 31 August 2009 - 10:53

You can try this free resource hacking program: http://anolisfx.devi...urcer-116235998

#13 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 31 August 2009 - 13:22

-KJ that app doesn't seem to work with Windows 7 64-bit.

#14 -KJ

-KJ

    ٩(●̮̮̃•̃)۶ 

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • Location: Texas

Posted 31 August 2009 - 14:53

Really? Sorry I didn't try before I mentioned it. I tried it on Vista x64 and I think it worked, but I don't really remember as I tried it out for fun. I just thought it would work on Win7 as Win7 is mentioned in the description.

#15 OP Jimmy422

Jimmy422

    Windows Fanatic

  • Joined: 03-November 08

Posted 31 August 2009 - 19:40

Having some trouble with a black square box showing up on hover, anybody know how to get rid of this bug?

7000_6.jpg

That's another thing I forgot to mention - you need an alpha channel for your bmp. I don't really know how to make a proper one, so I just use the original 6805.bmp's.