Jump to content



Photo

7 Stealth


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#31 OP Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 GM Candidate
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus Space Gray

Posted 03 September 2009 - 06:42

Explorer.exe only goes in C:\Windows and the 64bit file should not be used on 32bit OS, wait till he releases 32bit/x86


i have already released a X86/X64 Version in the link.


#32 rolarocka

rolarocka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-November 06

Posted 03 September 2009 - 11:47

Very nice theme. I got a question about replacing the explorer.exe. Isn't that a security risk to use a patched explorer.exe? Also stability wise?

#33 OP Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 GM Candidate
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus Space Gray

Posted 03 September 2009 - 15:43

Very nice theme. I got a question about replacing the explorer.exe. Isn't that a security risk to use a patched explorer.exe? Also stability wise?



it is not a security risk at all considering i only changed the start orb and nothing else, although it is a critical system file and when i said patch the explorer i only mean by putting the start orb images into the file, so there will be no harm done if you use it.

#34 rolarocka

rolarocka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-November 06

Posted 03 September 2009 - 19:57

hi good to know thx

#35 Ji@nBing

Ji@nBing

    Moonlapse Vertigo

  • Joined: 24-December 02
  • Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Posted 04 September 2009 - 22:39

How do I change Explorer? I tired taking ownership and renaming, but it says I need permission from "trustedinstaller".

#36 Tweaker

Tweaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-November 01

Posted 04 September 2009 - 23:52

How do I change Explorer? I tired taking ownership and renaming, but it says I need permission from "trustedinstaller".


Go to explorer in C:Windows\explorer. RIght click on the file and choose "Properties" click the "Security" tab, click on trusterinstaller, clcik on the "Edit" button on the next screen click on "Trustedinstaller" again and make sure the "Full Control" box is checked. If not check it and click "Apply" You can do the same for other names listed in the box too.

Attached Images

  • Permissions.jpg


#37 Ji@nBing

Ji@nBing

    Moonlapse Vertigo

  • Joined: 24-December 02
  • Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Posted 05 September 2009 - 11:34

Go to explorer in C:Windows\explorer. RIght click on the file and choose "Properties" click the "Security" tab, click on trusterinstaller, clcik on the "Edit" button on the next screen click on "Trustedinstaller" again and make sure the "Full Control" box is checked. If not check it and click "Apply" You can do the same for other names listed in the box too.

Awesome, thanks. I hadn't realized that I have to be logged on as admin too.

#38 san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 05 September 2009 - 14:31

i like how firefox looks :D

i'm new to ff3, is that theme for ff3 available separately?

#39 san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 05 September 2009 - 17:43

http://www.neowin.ne...howtopic=746714
done :D

#40 AnuragMishra

AnuragMishra

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-July 09

Posted 05 September 2009 - 21:38

Does the theme works for 32 bit-Windows 7? I tried installing it and the explorer was messed up.
Most other themes install well, except for one other theme that is made exclusively for 64 bit, and that too had similar problem with explorer.

This is my explorer with theme. Note that the location bar is messed up.

Posted Image

PS: As a general questions, are DLL's also dependent on architecture, like the executable(.exe) ?

#41 ilike2burnthing

ilike2burnthing

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 09

Posted 06 September 2009 - 00:15

Finding the same problems as above in the x86 version, but also a white surround on preview tabs. If .dll's are x86/x64 dependant then that's where I believe the problem lies.

Attached Images

  • problems.jpg


#42 buckboii

buckboii

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-August 09

Posted 06 September 2009 - 01:08

looks sexy imo.

#43 OP Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 GM Candidate
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus Space Gray

Posted 06 September 2009 - 01:33

Does the theme works for 32 bit-Windows 7? I tried installing it and the explorer was messed up.
Most other themes install well, except for one other theme that is made exclusively for 64 bit, and that too had similar problem with explorer.

This is my explorer with theme. Note that the location bar is messed up.

Posted Image

PS: As a general questions, are DLL's also dependent on architecture, like the executable(.exe) ?


well it's still not finished so x65 is only fully operational at this point.

#44 laq3

laq3

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-March 09

Posted 07 September 2009 - 05:34

A suggestion from me: The selected text (when you select a menu item) is rather hard to read, since it's black on black. If you can make it white text on black, that may help a lot.

(see picture in the previous post when the computer is selected)

#45 Yochanan

Yochanan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Fort Collins, CO
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 15 September 2009 - 00:34

It's not showing in Personalization. I even tried just double-clicking on the msstyles file like you can in XP, but it will not apply. I double checked the directory structure and all seems normal. All my other custom Windows 7 themes work. Am I missing something?